Gone But Not Forgotten!

The boys and I have made a safe journey to the midwest and are truly enjoying our time with family.  While I’m away, enjoy my archives!

****************************************************

Nobody Told Me I Needed To Be An Engineer

I have been a mom now for 6+ years.  I have made very important decisions for my children.  I have provided for them all that they could want or need.  I have fed them, bathed them, clothed them.  My sun has risen and set in them.  For much of the past 6+ years, parenting has been one of the easiest things I’ve ever done.

Oh sure, there have been those trying moments that every parent has.  The moments when you want to auction your kids off on eBay.  But you always sleep on it and decide in the morning that they are better left with you.  I love my children with all of my heart.  However, I have now been made painfully aware of how incompetent of a mother I am!

My oldest son turned 5 in October.  5 seems to be the magic age when the toys change.  Words like video game and camera entered his vocabulary.  The awful four letter word Lego was also uttered from his mouth.

Since his birthday our lives have never been the same.  I have joined the millions of mothers everywhere with the Lego logo permanently implanted in my foot.  I have learned to manipulate the tiniest of pieces to make my 5-year-old smile again.

This year that same 5-year-old asked Santa for lots and lots of Legos and boy did he deliver!  I spent much of Christmas day putting together two of the pieces that he got.  One of them even came with gears I had to put together.  Who knew Legos were so incredibly complex??

Yesterday I went crazy and claimed my house back from the Christmas fairies.  All toys went to the basement – until the little elves bring them back upstairs again…  I took the time to fix all broken Legos from both birthday and Christmas and to put together unopened Legos from Christmas.  It never ceases to amaze me that the finished product does not resemble the pile of Legos that I started with, nor does it look like THAT MANY Legos went into the making of the finished product.

I spent 2+ hours on my last day off before returning to work putting together all of the Legos that my son has, and this is what I have to show for it!

Doesn’t look like much of an accomplishment does it?  Perhaps if I was an engineer??  I’m thinking San Francisco Bay Bridge…..  Perhaps Legos are just the beginning for me???
Then again, I’ll stick to auctioning on eBay:)

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Gone But Not Forgotten!

  1. There are books that show other things to build with Legos after they’ve built the thing on the package.

    You have learned to pick up Legos with your toes, haven’t you? It’s a life skill worth cultivating.

Leave a comment