Down To One

I spent the whole weekend being a single parent.  Let me tell you, it sucks!  For those of you out there who do it all the time I truly commend you.  I’m not put together to do this all alone!  I tend to go batshit crazy after about day one.  I’m a wuss, a wimp, a sissy.

My honey had an amazing opportunity to take a course that taught her how to do massage on people diagnosed with cancer.  She was gone from 9-6 on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. While she missed her time with me and the boys, I’ve never seen her smile shine brighter.

On Friday morning I took the boys to extended time before school.  They don’t usually go on Friday’s because my honey is home from work that day.  So, it threw them out of routine right away.  On the way to school I explained why they were going and we talked about some of the fun things we were going to do.  Eli had a lot of questions about where mama was going to be.  He determined, finally, that she was going to be at college all weekend.  As soon as he said that out loud Keegan started crying.  He couldn’t believe that he wasn’t going to see mama all weekend and how could I let him leave her without a proper goodbye.  I talked him down off the ledge somehow and he was able to listen to me long enough to hear that she would be home every night for dinner.  She would NOT be missing popcorn and movie night with Wreck It Ralph.  She would give hugs and kisses and tuck them into bed every night.  All was again right in the world.

I got the luxury of picking them up after school on Friday too.  My honey always picks them up so we didn’t want to break the tradition.  I took off early from work and gathered up my two favorite guys.  We got home and ordered pizza.  They had a little down time before we packed up and went to a tennis party.  Their school offered free tennis lessons to anyone interested throughout the month of February.  The boys wanted to try it and we thought it would be a great learning experience for them.  On Friday night the instructors threw a big party at a local tennis club.  The kids got to practice their skills in front of their parents and have pizza afterward.  We ordered our own since Keegan is allergic to tomatoes and these parties never have a sauce free option.  So after an intensive hour of tennis we headed to Papa John’s and got our own pies and headed home to find mama ready and waiting for us.  We ate pizza together at the table and then snuggled together to watch Ralph do some smashing.

Saturday brought a whirlwind of events.  We had several things we had to do and quite a few we wanted to do.  We compromised and did them all 🙂  We started our day at the eye doctor to order Eli’s new glasses.  I can’t wait to show them to you.  He looks so handsome and grown up!  I promised not to reveal them to the world, though, until mama has seen them in person.  After the eye doctor we headed down to the Imagination Station – the local children’s science museum.  The boys are in absolute heaven there.  There isn’t anything that’s not kid friendly.  There is so much to do and see and learn about.  We were there for 2 hours and they didn’t stop moving once!  We headed to the library after that to get a few movies.  The boys opted for a stop at the used book store instead of checking books out at the library.  So, we went there next.  Again, they were in heaven.  Books everywhere and I rarely put a cap on how many they can get since most of the children’s books cost less than $2.  I spent less than I do at the book fairs at school and the boys had me carrying out 2 arm fulls of books.  They couldn’t wait to get to the car to start reading.  We headed to Costco for lunch and a little shopping.  The reward for shopping was a journey for my Journey through the car wash!  I love the giggles I get taking them through the car wash.  We headed home for some outside play while mommy cleaned the inside of the car.  And oh the treasures I found…  When mama got home we ate a quick dinner and watched Wreck It Ralph again!  It was a really fun, really tiring, really successful day.

And then came today.

The stars misaligned today.  Perhaps we were all too tired from yesterday.  There was a lot of yelling.  Perhaps the time change messed with us all.  There was a lot of fighting.  Perhaps my misery from getting pink eye (again) likely from the ankle biters at the Imagination Station added to the trauma of the day.  Whatever it was, it was a nightmare.  Thankfully it was a beautiful day today – 65 degrees.  I sent the kids outside and opened all the windows.  We tried for a fire but it was just a bit too windy.  Made me excited, though, to get my fire pit done over spring break (provided the weather cooperates) so that the wind doesn’t affect my fires as much!  I made therapeutic fajitas – fajitas and margaritas always remind me of my sister.  Today was no different and today brought a smile with those fajitas.  I texted her husband to tell him I was making them as an early birthday present for him – his birthday is tomorrow.  He shared that he had just poured a margarita.  Perfect timing.  Eli came in and helped me prepare some of the dinner.  Then he sent himself to his room because he was mad that I couldn’t stop what I was doing to play with him.  I never give him any attention.  Yeah, it was that kind of day.  But at the end of the day we did some snuggling.  We shared some laughs.  We hugged and kissed and tucked little heads into bed.

I looked at my honey’s smile as she told me about her weekend.  My heart warmed that we could do this for her and I sent prayers and good wishes out to the powers that be that she can find a job where she can use these skills doing something she truly loves.  I loved that we could support her this weekend by getting through without her.  I loved even more that it’s not a permanent thing.  I’m not cut out to be a single mom forever.  But, every once in a while, it’s nice to have my boys all to myself 😉

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Down To One

  1. Lordy, I’m exhausted just reading about your weekend. What amazing energy and devotion you have.

  2. Elastamom says:

    That’s enough to make anyone tired! Yeah for Jane!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

