IOWA

Yes, it’s a state.

But it’s not the state that worries him.

The state we love.

The state that houses a cousin and an uncle.

The state where we said goodbye to a treasured aunt.

No, the state is NOT what worries him.

It’s that stupid test.

2 weeks of sitting in a chair taking exam after exam.

A week of prep before the test where the teacher tells the class that this is a very hard test.  The hardest test they’ve ever taken.

Thanks.

Thanks for telling my anxiety ridden little boy that this is going to be the worst 2 weeks of his life.

No, you’re right.  You didn’t say those exact words.

Unfortunately for you he’s always been able to read between the lines to see the TRUE doom and gloom.

His life for the last week has already been Hell.

Consequently ours has been somewhat rocky too.

Thanks to an amazing psychologist who can fit us in on a different day when we had to cancel due to weather on our regular day.

Thanks to the psychologist who threatened him with a test the day of our last session, helping to ease the pain of the upcoming test.

Thanks to the strength and maturity that is forming within him and allowed him to finally see that he was, indeed, worried about those stupid four letters crammed together.

I O W A

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IOWA

  1. Elastamom says:

    I really wish they would just have the kids show up and take it…and not talk about it constantly. Even kids without worry issues get stressed beyond belief!

Leave a Reply

