Wisdom and Beauty

I took a break from most everything last week to take joy in the calm that was in my house.  I won’t say quiet because life with boys is never quiet.  But after the crazy week we’d had a couple of weeks ago it was nice to revel in the calm.  We simply went where our lives took us.  Along the way we experienced some amazing things.

I did some reading.  I download books all the time.  My library is packed with a wide variety of classics and thrillers and mysteries and drama and the list goes on and on.  I’ve had a certain book in my library for a few months now that I’ve continued to scroll past.  Certainly it intrigued me enough to buy it but my finger just never wanted to stop.  Last week it called to me.

The Last Lecture

It was incredibly hard to read and soothing all at the same time.  The words of a man sentenced to death from cancer.  The wisdom behind his voice.  The love written in each line.  The beauty of the final months, weeks and days of his life.  In the end the voice of my sister echoed as this man left behind small children.  I was inspired and heart-broken all in the same moment.  Now, I feel compelled to bundle up with my favorite blanket and watch the actual lecture.  With a box of tissues nearby.

Eli discovered his love for drawing once again.  He has done a lot of drawing in the past, mainly for therapy purposes.  Usually he draws evil things to dilute his anger toward someone.  It usually works and is a much better outlet than hitting.  Last week, however, he revived his passion.  He drew me an entire book – a dragon manual.  He even put an author’s note at the end.  I hope you’v enjod my book.  I live it because I like Dragons.

IMAG0447

We are in search of art classes or an art camp for him to go to this summer.  My little man has a gift and a love for detail.  I’d love to see this become something for him.  Drawing is so calming and meaningful for him.  I’m working on creating an art wall in our bedroom – an Eli and Keegan art wall.  I’m blessed to have so many amazing creations to choose from.

Keegan is starting to come out of his shell ever so slightly.  He has really taken off with diving.  He is starting to do somersaults and do some backward diving.  He comes over after every new dive or really good dive that he does to make sure that we were watching and that we saw it.  Buddy, we wouldn’t miss it for the world!  There’s nothing quite like the smile of pride and success at something he is beginning to really love.

Several weeks ago the boys’ school held a Bingo night fundraiser.  Keegan wasn’t feeling very good so I stayed home with him and Eli went with my honey and her dad.  They had a blast and ended up winning a crapton of free ice skating tickets at the local arena.  We decided that we should share them with friends.  We scheduled a playdate for last weekend and took some friends skating with us.  It was a blast.  We watched the boys skate with their friends with true joy.  Watched them be the young boys that they are.  No worries, no fears, just fun.  What being a kid is all about.

We spent a lot more time last week being happy together.  It didn’t hurt that we ended the week with a snow day!  If only there had been just a little more snow to play in and not so much ice.  Still it was a joy that sent two boys on delightful adventures.

While I was away I enjoyed my family.  I enjoyed our calm.  I delighted in our fun.  We sang together, we laughed together and we read together.  The stuff that memories are made of.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wisdom and Beauty

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Sounds like it was exactly what you all needed! I’m glad things are going well.

  2. Miss D. is really into drawing dragons, too!

  3. Elastamom says:

    That dragon is awesome! Have you looked into that art place over by Barry’s? I’ve heard that’s good. The name escapes me! I’m glad you had a calm week…I need one of those!

Leave a Reply

