Saying Goodbye… Again…

A text from my BIL today shared that he had to put the cat down this morning.  Samantha.  My sister’s cat.

She was feisty, Miss Samantha.  She was fat and sassy and liked things her way.  She loved to pee in a fresh pile of laundry.  She overtook her bed and my BIL’s bed and the dog’s bed.  Samantha had her pick of anywhere in the house because she was the oldest.

And now she is gone.

Tearing open a wound that has yet to fully scab over.

Samantha has gone to be with Heidi.  Heidi is gone.  My nephew has lost one more link to his precious mother.

I can’t seem to stop tearing up over this cat that used to annoy the living daylights out of me whenever we would visit.  The loss of her life is such a symbol.

I can’t help but hold my breath now.  Amos, the dog, is no spring pup.  He is my sister’s pride and joy.  He is more than 10 years old.  Double digits for a rather large black lab is certainly pushing it.  And now he has lost his cat friend in addition to his beloved owner.  He trudges on for my nephew, I know.

My heart is breaking all over again.  I send my love to my nephew and my BIL as their wounds have been torn open as well.

Rest in Peace Samantha.  Snuggle well with Heidi tonight.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saying Goodbye… Again…

  1. I am sorry that you miss her. But I also love that you miss her. xo

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    I’m sorry Heather. I hope the thought of Samantha snuggling with Heidi gives you some peace and comfort.

  3. Elastamom says:

    {{{{{{{{Heather}}}}}}} That was a giant, bear-sized, longtime friend hug. xoxo

  4. Oh my goodness, this is tough. I am so sorry, Heather. You and your big heart have such amazing empathy. I know that big hearts can have big, big holes torn in them. It touched me that you even included Amos. Big hugs from here, too.

Leave a Reply

