Why?

I am a lurker on Facebook, most of the time.  I post here and there, usually about something that the boys have done or are doing.  I quickly scan through the updates of my friends and make comments or like where appropriate.  It’s a nice way to catch up when I only have a few minutes.

I’ve learned to rapidly scroll past the friends on my list who like to dwell on the drama in their lives and lay it out for the world to see.  I have enough drama in my own world.  I don’t need to keep the drama of others in my head too!

This weekend I came across a post from a friend that had me wanting to reach through the computer and shake her.  She spouted a rather lengthy post that basically put out there that Justin Bieber should just come out of the closet already and that all of those teenage girls who think he’s such a heart-throb should just open their eyes and realize that he’s gay.

Really???  REALLY???

Who give’s a shit if he’s gay and why does it even matter?  Several people made comments that there is no way he would ever come out because it would ruin his career.  Others expressed their dislike that he could even be gay.

Again I say WHO CARES!

I fully support the right of any individual to keep their sexuality (whatever that may be) to themselves.  Society is so insanely judgemental.  Love whomever you want to love and keep it behind closed doors if that’s what makes you the most comfortable.  Don’t feel that you have to be a role model for everyone else.  Don’t feel like your life needs to be scrutinized just because you are famous.  The more you keep to yourself the more private your life is able to be and the more successful you are likely to be in a relationship, ANY relationship.

I responded to my friend that it really doesn’t matter.  Her take on my comment was that I was right and that’s why Justin should just come out already.  I just sat and shook my head.  Sometimes it’s just best to leave ignorant people alone.

So I say to the Justins and the Oprahs and anyone else the general public is constantly questioning just be yourself.  Be the best you that you can be.  Love whomever you choose to love.  Share it with the world if you like and if not, enjoy who you love in the privacy of your own home.  Your love, your life and your relationships are for your benefit and yours alone.  Don’t let others pressure you into giving up whatever secrets you wish to keep.  Stay true to yourself, no matter what.

Stepping off my soapbox.  God Speed.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why?

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    AMEN! I agree with every word you wrote!!!!

  2. Elastamom says:

    Sing it, sister!!!!!

Leave a Reply

