Yin and Yang

Having 2 divers in the house has been exciting and challenging and enjoyable and a whole basket full of other emotions wrapped up with a polka-dotted bow.  While having two kids who were in completely different sports was a challenge that kept us running all over the city and state it was nice to see them coming into their own person, conquering their own dreams.  And now their dreams have merged into one again.

When Keegan first started diving I was really hesitant.  I was worried about him because he’s not big on heights.  I was worried about Eli because Keegan was getting into his dream.  I had a lot of worries for nothing really.

It’s been amazing to watch them become their own divers.  They each have their own strengths and they each have their own unique things to work on.  Keegan appears to be excelling faster than Eli did.  Eli has gained so much more calm and focus when on the board.  Eli has lost the Frankenstein walk when doing his approach on the board.  Keegan is in the heart of his Frankenstein walk.  Eli is gaining height and Keegan is learning to jump in the water straight instead of arms and legs flailing.

Lately Eli has been coming home from diving and asking to quit.  We’ve been trying to get to the bottom of what his anxiety is that has got him begging to walk away.  It struck me last night after practice that the coach is really pushing him now to try a new dive.  The last time he really wanted to quit was around the time he learned the last new dive.  It’s the new and the different and the difficult that has his little heart racing.  And being the mean parents we are we just won’t let him walk away.

Keegan is so totally opposite.  He started working on a new dive last night and his face was just beaming.  He kept coming over to the bleachers to make sure that I was watching his every move.  He couldn’t wait to tell my honey when we got home that he was working on a new dive.  Coach challenges him and he rapidly rises to the challenge and lets it motivate his every move.  No thought, no worry,  just pure delight.

It is with a sigh that I realize my children may be on the same sport and the same team but this time around they require two very different types of support.  Fortunately we pay attention to them and to their needs and we are armed with the right kinds of hugs and hopefully the right words and just the right amount of smile to help them keep making that leap.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yin and Yang

  1. Elastamom says:

    That is so awesome, Heather!!! Your boys are so cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

