Icky Sicky!!!

We had a massive bug sweep through this house with a nasty vengeance.  Keegan spent several hours with a bowl in front of his face combined with several days of just feeling like shit.  I stayed home with him while he was sick and lo and behold I caught the same damn bug.  I’m still recovering but feel better than I have in several days now.  It has been the week from hell, truly.

Prior to our multi day vomithon we did have some really great fun 🙂  The plus to living in the Midwest when the weather decides to go subzero is that everything outside freezes.  That’s a big plus when there is a pond only 2 houses away that has been screaming for skaters since we moved in here.  This year we got to partake.  We went down 2 nights in a row and skated by the light of the moon and a few street lamps.  The pond sits down in a little valley so there was no wind to bother us.  Because we went at night there were no other skaters to contend with.  It was just the 4 of us and a vast plain of ice.  We skated up and down for a couple of hours just moving around on the ice.  We laughed and raced and had the best time.  It was one of those moments that childhood memories are made of.  And then the temperature rose to 60 degrees and it rained the ice away.  But as the temperatures are dropping we are closely watching the ice (and the nice man who cleans it off when it is safe!) for a return to our skating fun.

I took Eli to the eye doctor for a check-up on Monday last week.  He has been caught standing really close to the TV and complaining of headaches and his lazy eye has been wandering more.  So, I scheduled an early appointment to get him looked at.  We were pleased to hear that overall his vision itself has stabilized.  No change from last year.  His astigmatism has gotten worse in both eyes requiring a new prescription that thankfully can wait until the new flex spending card goes into effect in a month!  His eyes are having difficulty working together again so back to vision therapy we go.  Fortunately we can stick with the home program for now and hopefully avoid working with the therapist again.  Eli was not very happy to hear that vision therapy was in his future.  He was glad to hear that I have found a few apps for the iPad and that he’ll get to use that for therapy.  It seemed to take the sting out a little.

I got to have an awesome girls night out.  I have some of the best ladies that I work with every day.  We get each other and can make each other laugh and help each other when we cry.  We try to organize schedules as often as we can but things just never seem to pan out.  Fate was in our corner last week and we got to all hang out together over dinner and drinks.  It was great to laugh with them and retell old stories and toast our friend’s birthday.  It was just what the doctor ordered since just a few hours after I got home Keegan would wake me up because he was sick.

And now, my friends, I leave you a little early.  I’m off to get a little more sleep so that my body can continue to heal.  I’m thankful to be back here after last week’s crazy.  We spent the weekend bleaching down the house and washing all bedding in scalding hot water to try to rid us of germs.  Crossing all fingers, arms, legs and toes that this virus has taken a hike for good.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Icky Sicky!!!

  1. I wish you a germ-free week!

  2. Elastamom says:

    ^^^I second that!!! 🙂

  3. Debbi Henry says:

    It’s been a rough year for the sickies and I am so over it! Here’s hoping you guys are over the worst of it and that it stays away for good! I’m glad you were able to have the fun girls night before it hit!

    The ice skating sounds magical. How wonderful that you are able to do that with your family. I’m sure your boys will remember it forever!

    Good luck with the vision therapy. What a resourceful mother you are to give him new ways to get what he needs with a little less stress! Good job mama!

Leave a Reply

