Happy This Week

I’m excited to hook up with Tiffany at Elastamom’s Excerpts for a little weekly happy.

While I enjoyed spending time at home with my boys for more than 2 weeks, I must say I was thrilled to get back to work.  Yes life there is crazy right now – that’s not really new.  I love the little ones that I work with and the families that I get the opportunity to teach and learn from.  I love emails like the one I got today from a family whose child left my program several months ago.  The mom emailed me to tell me her son was asking about me over the holidays and wondered if I would he would see me ever again.  It touched my heart in so many ways.  I love that I get to have a job that I adore and really do look forward to going to daily.

I can never say enough how much I adore our diving coach.  This man has qualities unlike most others.  He has an amazing understanding of every child he works with.  Keegan began leaning toward diving back in December.  I emailed the coach and asked him his thoughts.  He offered to have Keegan come for free in December to see how he did and if he liked it.  As of Monday of this week, Keegan is official a member of the Dolphin Diving Club.  Already the coach has picked up on the major differences in my two boys.  He treats them very differently when talking them through how to make changes in their dives.  He knows just how to joke with each one and how stern to be with each one.  This man has earned the utmost respect from me.  I hope that the boys stick with diving because I believe that he can take them far.

The return of new TV episodes!!!  I’m not a huge TV junkie but I do have my shows that I never miss.  It was awesome to be glued to the TV for an unseen episode of Castle and Scandal.  I even got to see the Big Bang Theory tonight which is almost unheard of (it falls right in the middle of bedtime and we don’t have DVR *gasp*).  I did miss Parenthood on Wednesday because I was just plain exhausted and fell asleep early.  Thank goodness for the computer 🙂

A little belated Christmas box from my BIL that contained an iTunes card for my honey and I!!!  I’m already drooling over the Adele iTunes Live collection.  There are a few others on my list as well.  Those albums that I would likely never spend the money on for myself but am more than happy to spend someone else’s money!!!  I’m realizing more and more, though, that I need to start saving for iPods for my honey and I.  The time to upgrade is soon!

Eli’s new worry doctor has turned out to be simply amazing.  I’ll go into more detail on how crazy all of that got before the holidays sometime next week.  Suffice to say for now that this man has really started to get to know Eli and has noticed some things that his last worry doctor didn’t.  It’s scary to me how big his worries really are…  It makes me so happy that we found someone who is helping him face his worries and working to make those worries so much smaller.

A house free of Cartoon Network!!!  We blocked Cartoon Network from our TV about a week ago.  The boys were just off the hook.  The nonsense and baby talk coming out of their mouths was driving me mad.  Their reenactments of Annoying Orange and The Regular Show and so many others was making me cuckoo.  I couldn’t take it anymore.  I blocked it on all TVs and told the boys that they could have it back in a month if they could stop being crazy.  It’s amazing to me how different they are without that channel!  They are so much more calm and the fighting seems to have gone down a lot.  I’m not sure I’ll be all that willing to give the channel back at the end of the month…

What made you happy this week???

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy This Week

  1. Egads, no DVR? No Cartoon Network? There’d be mutiny in my house without both of those! So glad to hear that the worry doctor and the diving coach are so amazing!

  2. Elastamom says:

    That’s certainly a lot of happy!!! I’m so glad about the worry doctor…and new TV!!!

Leave a Reply

