Happy This Week

Hooking up with my dear friend Tiffany at Elastamom’s Excerpts to focus on the happy this week.  I love that she does this each and every week.  Even when I can’t participate I find the smile creeping up on my face every Friday morning to read her posts and ponder my own happy.  So, climb on board and participate if you can and if you can’t be sure to find your very own happy!!!

Conferences…  I really was nervous about conferences this year for the first time ever.  Eli’s teacher is hard to read and has been rather distant and short since last weeks incidences.  We arrived to find a party of the principal, the OT, the speech pathologist, the interventionist and his teacher.  And we were instantly put at ease by the amazing team he continues to have.  Everyone had amazing ideas and had already stepped up to try to implement them so that he can get help now.  His IEP will be revised after we have a few visits with the worry doctor to get some new ideas.  I love these people and know that once again they care about my son, they understand him and they want the very best for him.  In addition to all of this it was wonderful to hear Keegan’s teacher go on and on about him and all of the great things he’s doing.  Both of my boys are well above age level in math and reading – skills they most certainly did not get from me.  All in all it was a very uplifting afternoon!

Sports…  Keegan has been taking ice skating lessons for a few weeks now and is totally rocking it out.  He can already skate backward!  I’m so proud of how well he’s doing and the determination he has.  It’s amazing.  Both boys did a free hockey clinic on Saturday.  They had a lot of fun with it and learned a lot.  Now Keegan is considering hockey after the first of the year.  He just started basketball for the first time.  He loves it.  He was focused and really enjoyed everything that he was learning.  He is bummed that he has games on Sundays and practice on Mondays and nothing in between.  He wants to play every day.  Finally, Eli has his first diving meet this weekend.  We are both very anxious about it.  He will be doing four dives and we are driving 3 hours to our destination for diving.  It’s certain to be a fantastic learning experience and an opportunity for a boatload of fun!  You will hear all about it next week for sure!

A break…  I got to take today and tomorrow off this week because the boys are off school for conferences.  We took it easy today, stayed in our jammies until we couldn’t anymore.  We watched TV and played video games and played with Legos and ate our favorite foods.  Dinner cooked itself in the crockpot so we didn’t have to lift a finger.  The only thing that would have made it better would have been if my honey could have been here to enjoy it with us.

Amazing friends…  Our friend Lynda is taking Keegan Saturday to keep him until Sunday afternoon so that he doesn’t have to go through the lengthy trip for the diving meet and sit for we don’t know how long to watch his brother dive for 1 minute and endure the lengthy trip home – all the while missing his very first basketball game.  So he gets to hang out with Lynda for the day and go to basketball and have some amazing one on one attention with someone who loves him dearly.  I’m also excited to finally be working on scheduling a very long over due dinner with good friends 🙂  It’s way past time for some laughter and wine!

Teams…  I work with some of the most amazing people I’ve ever met.  People who care about children in the same way that I do.  I was fortunate this week to work with a team of them to complete an evaluation on a set of siblings I’ve been working with.  It warmed my heart to see the connections these people made with these children in such a short time and all of the thoughtfulness and caring they put into this evaluation.  The parents felt cared about and heard.  The children just had fun.  It was truly the most enjoyable evaluation I’ve ever done with any group of individuals.

I love this reflection on my week to see how happy my days really made me!  What kind of happy did you have this week?

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy This Week

  1. Elastamom says:

    I’m so glad you joined in. That is a lot of happy!!! I’m so glad everything is going so well for you all.

Leave a Reply

