On My Toes

You are my youngest little.  You are like me in more ways than I care to think about most days.  You are strong-willed.  You are stubborn.  You are sensitive.  You are loving.  You are quiet.  You are a friend to everyone but often get left out yourself.

You keep me on my toes.

When you were a toddler you learned to feed yourself with your right hand.  You learned to color and draw with your right hand.  As you grew you developed these skills strongly with your right hand.  But you added sports and changed.  You bat left-handed when you play baseball but you often throw with your right.  You do lay ups in basketball with your left hand but shoot free throws with your right.  You hold a hockey stick left-handed.  You hold a lacrosse stick left-handed.  You are right foot dominant when you dribble a soccer ball.

You keep me on my toes.

Your health is mystifying.  You developed breathing issues.  We know when but we don’t know why.  You did well with a daily pill for a while and then it wasn’t enough.  We have added a daily breathing treatment.  For awhile you did well.  Now you seem to need a little something to help you get through your sporting events.  You have an allergy to tomatoes of all things.  You complain a lot of tummy aches.  Do you not eat enough vegetables?  Are you allergic to something else we don’t know about yet?  You’ve stopped eating almost everything.  Why is that?  I wish I could see inside you to know just what’s going on.  I want to make it better but I have no idea how.

You keep me on my toes.

You are smart as a whip.  You are quiet so not everyone sees it.  You are reading well above your age level.  You are master all other skills equal to your age level.  Yet getting you to do homework is worse than pulling my fingernails out one by one.  Getting you to read a book for leisure is worse than murder for you.  I’m always looking for new ways to challenge you and to encourage you.  You are the one who is challenging me.

You keep me on my toes.

You are an amazing young man.  You know what you want and you work hard to achieve it.  You are motivated by things you enjoy.  You strive toward success, always.  You still want to snuggle with me and are always waiting with a hug when I walk through the door.  You are ready with a “mommy I love you” whenever you see I need one.

You keep me on my toes, but that only makes me more prepared for the dance.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On My Toes

  1. That last line got me. *sniff*

  2. Elastamom says:

    It is truly no wonder why our littles are friends…they are so much alike. Although Keegan is much quieter than Matthew!! 😉

Leave a Reply

