Determination

I saw this quote on my Twitter feed today :

He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life ~ Muhammad Ali

I got an email from Eli’s coach about the diving meet coming up in November.  He was asking to get a final count of all the divers planning to attend the meet.  All meets are optional but strongly encouraged.  I returned the email and stated that Eli would be diving as long as coach felt he was ready.  The email I got back made me the proudest mommy.

Eli will be able to compete.  It’s cool to see his confidence grow and he never gives up.

And I stopped to think about how hard he has been working.

He overcame his fear of the water and now willingly jumps in and tries to get to the bottom if he can.

He has learned to maintain focus and follow the coaches directions or risk doing push ups and crunches if he gets a little too out of line.

He has learned a great deal of trust.  Diving backward off the board into the abyss is nerve wrecking.  You have to feel where you are diving and for a little guy lacking body awareness that is a very difficult feat indeed.  Last week he hit the board with his leg.  I didn’t see it.  The coach told me it happened.  He was ok, just a small bruise.  But, he now knows why coach gets on him so much!

He conquered the Nike brief (aka Speedo…).  He was embarrassed and was not looking forward to getting up on the board.  But he’s been doing this long enough now that as soon as he was on the board he went into focus mode and looked at the coach and did what he was told.  He didn’t think about the suit again until diving was over.  He said he didn’t need to wear it again.  I know better.  I don’t want him to think about it during the meet – he’ll have enough anxiety that day.

Whether or not he knows it, he is following in the footsteps of the great ones.  He is taking risks and stepping out of his comfort zone to do something that was simply made for him.  He will accomplish as much as he is willing to try.  So far that is a lot!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Determination

  1. Kate says:

    This is so great. You supporting him, his thrilling leaps – greatness.

  2. Elastamom says:

    I forgot that he was afraid of water!!! He is so awesome and an inspiration. Go Eli!!!

Leave a Reply

