The Book Report

This song takes me back.  So far back.  Spring musical, senior year of high school.  I so badly need to move that from VHS to DVD.  If it were there already I’d share it with you.  I don’t know if it would make me laugh or cry.  I’m not sure if I would die of embarrassment or be proud of what I once did.

My senior year of high school our district was low on money.  That’s nothing new for many districts.  We were fortunate that we still got to put on a musical.  The catch was that we wrote the whole thing.  There was no money to buy rights to a preexisting musical.  We did bootleg a few songs, many of them from You’re A Good Man, Charlie Brown.  In the song above I sang the Schroeder role.  It was pompous, fun and so totally me.  We titled the musical KIDS and we were all school children and much of our interactions took place on the school playground, including the writing of our book report.

I was on You Tube tonight looking up a completely different song for a completely different post and this was one of the recommended videos on the side.  Tomorrow is Eli’s first book report ever.  I couldn’t help but find the humor in comparing this video with the time we’ve spent on this report.  Let me state for the record that Eli is Charlie Brown, totally.

He procrastinated on this report F.O.R.E.V.E.R.!!!  He had every excuse under the sun why he couldn’t start it – many of them involving needing to play outside.  When the time came to actually write the index cards for his verbal report it was like pulling teeth.  I let him do the cards as Power Point and that made it a little better but still…  Then there is the verbal part of the report.  He’s 2nd grade so I’m trying to keep that in the front of my head.  This will be his first learning experiencing in making eye contact while speaking, using full sentences and not reading directly from your cards.  As I was listening to him read rapidly from his notes I was catapulted back to third grade.

My teacher was Mr. Warnke.  The task was a verbal book report.  The book?  The Cat From Outer Space.  As I recollect, I never read the book.  Ever.  I got up in front of the class, thankful to get away from Trent White for a moment and his odoriferous and grotesque paste eating habits.  Essentially I recited the description of the book as listed on the back of the book.  Somehow I passed.  Perhaps because I got the pity of the teacher because I was “only in 3rd grade”.

So I smiled and nodded as Eli worked through his book report to get to the end and do the science experiment.  Did I forget to mention that not only was this a verbal book report but also an opportunity to be creative and come up with a fun way to share the book with others.  Fortunately the book Eli chose had a science experiment at the end that simply involved making goo out of cornstarch and water.  Something that he can very easily take the ingredients to school and do the experiment in front of his class.

The downfall of all of this is that he’s nervous as hell and has been a pain the last couple of days as we tip toe closer and closer to tomorrow.  I can hardly wait until it is over.  I know he will do well and that his slime will be the hit of the class.  In the mean time I’ll be doing great if he and I both survive this!

Amazing that I got all of this out of a little You Tube hunting.  It does a brain good.

The Ennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Book Report

  1. Elastamom says:

    So funny!!!! I hope it goes well for Eli.

    • It got postponed until tomorrow!!! Actually he did rather well with the change because he got to see his friends so their projects today and now knows what to expect tomorrow. In a way it was a good thing 🙂

  2. Love this story. You were pestered by a paste-eater, too?

Leave a Reply

