Happy This Week

I’m hooking up with Tiffany at Elastamom’s Excerpts to brighten up my space.  Hope you’ll play along too!

I’m writing this on Thursday night after an extremely craptastic day.  I almost didn’t do this because I wasn’t sure I could find the happy after the day I’d had.  But this one day can’t take away from the whole week, I won’t let it have that power.  So I dug a little deeper and I found some good stuff!

My little man turned 8.  Not sure where the last 8 years have gone but here we are edging ever closer to double digits.  He loved his birthday.  He had the best of friends join him.  He got to go to see Hotel Transylvania as a birthday surprise.  Our close friends and family joined us to celebrate his day.  You could see how special he felt.  He declared it the best birthday ever.

A quiet week.  I love watching my boys perform at sports, I really do.  But this week we got to take a break from it all.  Eli only had one diving practice and Keegan had no soccer practices.  It was nice to relax after work for a change and not have to rush through homework and reading.  Everyone seemed a little calmer.

I signed Keegan up for basketball this week.  He will start in November.  I’m so excited to see him deciding to do something that he wants to try instead of following his brother.  He’s excited about trying something new.  Of course he’s already asking about indoor soccer once basketball is over.  That makes me smile too :).

We gave Eli some science experiments for his birthday.  He’s been sooooo excited to do them.  We got to test one of them out a couple of nights ago.  It was fun to watch the boys predict and then get excited with the outcome.  We are hoping to play around with a few more this weekend.

We are heading north this weekend, just me and the boys.  They have a day off of school on Monday so I took the day off of work.  We are going to watch Keegan’s last soccer game Saturday morning, go home and eat lunch and then hit the road.  It will be nice to get away from everything and just *be* for a few days.

Tonight I came home to happy, healthy boys.  Too often I take that for granted.  My boys know love, they feel safe in their home.  They have plenty of food to eat.  They have clean clothes to wear.  They are able to focus on school and learning because they live in an environment that fosters learning.  They are blessed with an amazing family and loving friends.  I am blessed to have them in my life.

What made you happy this week?

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy This Week

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    You did a great job at finding the happy this week! Have a wonderful weekend with the boys!

  2. Elastamom says:

    I almost didn’t do my happy post this week either…but I’m so glad I dug deep too!!! Matthew is trying basketball too…but not until the 2nd session. We’ll see you there! 😉

  3. Tiff your Happy posts help me close out the week on a good note – I just gotta keep digging! I don’t know if we’ll be doing 2nd session or not. Keegan’s looking forward to indoor soccer so we’ll see what he decides as we get closer 🙂

Leave a Reply

