Pumpkin!!!

Hooking up with Mama Kat to talk about one of my most favorite fall things… PUMPKINS!!!  Head on over and check out what everyone else is writing about!

Fall.  One of my favorite times of the year.  The leaves change colors.  The air turns crisp and demands cozy blankets and sweatshirts.  Campfires and cocoa fill up our nights.  Pumpkins become the focus of all around us.

This summer I made the leap to drinking coffee.  Yes, I’m 38 years old and just found the bliss of ground coffee beans building a delicious aroma in my kitchen.  I’m particular though and must have enough sweet stuff to make it worth my while.  My mother would be appalled.  Because of my new coffee obsession I was introduced this fall to the pumpkin spice latte.  Heaven in a mug, there is no doubt.  I am hooked!

The boys love a good pumpkin pie, same as most I suspect.  For them the love stops there.  The thought of pumpkin eaten any other way is just absurd.  Thanks to Pinterest I found a way to trick them into eating pumpkin and loving it!

The recipe is for Pull Apart Pumpkin Cinnamon Bread.  We love cinnamon rolls in this house like other people love donuts.  My boys would have those cinnamon rolls in a tube daily if I let them.  We try to minimize the amount of processed food the boys consume so when I saw this recipe I knew we had to give it a go.

The inaugural making of this recipe turned out to be delicious but took forever so the boys were cranky by the time they rolled out of the oven.  Hungry boys are ANYTHING but patient!  Still they were a hit.  Best cinnamon rolls ever!  Mommy you must make these again!  The next time I made them I tried letting them rise in the fridge overnight.  The outcome was the same but the boys only had to wait for the cooking time and not the prep time.  This makes for a much calmer breakfast.  Now this recipe is hanging on our board, for good I suspect.  The boys do not know there is pumpkin in the recipe.  What they don’t know won’t hurt them, or me 😉

Next weekend we will venture to our favorite pumpkin patch and pick the best pumpkins of the season.  We will take pictures like we have every other year.  We will use the pumpkins as our back drop because they bring so much color and life into a photo where I can’t help but miss the small boys who once stood out in these photos.  Already they have changed from just last year.

We will take our prize-winning pumpkins home and carve them.  We are not master carvers but we try to do something fun with our pumpkins.  Last year was all about Angry Birds and Detroit Tigers.  The boys loved showing them off!

The best part of carving pumpkins is making the pumpkin seeds.  We slow roast them and hope that we got enough to last more than a few days.  Everyone eats them like candy!

We will wrap up fall and our love for pumpkins with a delicious pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving and, perhaps, maybe even some pumpkin cake.  It is a delightful way to bid adieu to something we love so very much.

What’s your favorite pumpkin delight?

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin!!!

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    That pumpkin bread sounds so good! I love all things pumpkin but this year I want to try making pumpkin dump cake. I don’t know if I should though because only Gracie and I like pumpkin and that would be a lot of cake sitting around…

    Love the picture of the boys from last year!

  2. Elastamom says:

    An ode to pumpkin, I love it!!!

Leave a Reply

