What a Weekend

I was up late Friday night preparing the cake.  Pandora playing in the background.  My honey scoring records on the work computer.  The dog got fed up and went upstairs to bed.  The boys were sleeping soundly.

I hid the cake in the oven and taped a note over the door so I wouldn’t be stupid and turn the oven on, ruining the cake I worked so hard on.  I cleaned up my mess and moved up to bed.

Saturday morning brought early risers who were requesting cinnamon rolls.  While they played and watched morning cartoons I removed the cake from the oven and proceeded to bake the rolls.  Eli emerged from the basement to the cake sitting on the table looking right at him.  Until that moment he had no idea how it looked.  He stopped in his tracks and his jaw dropped.  He couldn’t move, couldn’t talk.  He just stared.  Then he flashed his wicked grin and said “it’ll do” and started to walk away.  So I bugged him cuz’ I knew there was more.  He turned and ran into my arms yelling “Best Cake EVER!!!”.

I rocked it out.

Off to soccer and diving we went.  Sadly diving was canceled due to a lot of rain and extreme drop in temps that froze the diving board.  How do you keep a boy occupied when his friends won’t arrive until much later in the afternoon?  You give in and let him pick movies and play DS to take his brain off the party and keep him from driving himself and everyone else crazy.

Essentially he got 2 parties on Saturday.  Two of the friends he invited had a soccer game smack in the middle of his party.  We moved the time to accommodate them.  We hadn’t heard from the third friend he invited so figured we’d be ready if he showed at the original time.  The original time approached and Eli started looking out the window, stalking anyone that walked by our house.  We held our breath, hoping he would come but preparing for the meltdown to follow if he didn’t.  Thankfully he arrived only moments after start time but had to leave as the other kids were arriving due to another party.

The afternoon/evening was amazing.  The boys played so well together.  They enjoyed the activities that we planned and had fun playing in the basement and outside, creating their own adventures.  We mostly sat back and watched.  We laughed and smiled and loved watching Eli enjoy his day.  He has some of the nicest friends who also happen to have some of the best parents.

It was hard to wind him down and put him to bed, but somehow we succeeded.  I’m certain his dreams were the sweetest yet.

Yesterday was his birthday.  My honey woke up with the flu.  She tried her best to will it away.  But, alas, the flu won out.  I continued the day as we had planned in hopes that Eli would still enjoy his day and feel special.  He was sad my honey couldn’t be there but loved his day.  We went to a movie and splurged on popcorn.  We played outside.  He got some DS time.  Family and close friends came over for the cheeseburger and fries dinner he requested.  We ate more cake.  He opened more presents.  He was overjoyed to have everyone around him and I know he could feel the love.  Before bed he went into my bedroom to tell my honey all about his day.  The thrill in his voice told me I’d done ok carrying on in her absence.

We succeeded in a relaxing birthday weekend full of fun and love.  He declared it his most special birthday yet.

Now his brother has challenged me with the task of an even cooler cake for his birthday.  Thank goodness I have 6 months to plan!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What a Weekend

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    You’ll need those six months to recover! What a very busy and fun weekend you had! I’m so glad Eli had a great birthday and I love his reaction to the cake. That makes all the work of making that cake more than worth it, doesn’t it?

    • It does make it all worth it! Keegan is already planning and so am I. I love to surprise them with things that they love. I know we are creating memories they will cherish forever!

  2. Elastamom says:

    That is so awesome! You are really good at the cake decorating!!!!

Leave a Reply

