Infinity

If you turn the number 8 on its side it magically transforms into the symbol for infinity.  That is how long I imagine your legacy will last.

You are witty and funny and brave and intelligent and thoughtful and appreciative.  You are destined for big things.

This year you branched out.  You have conquered your fears by learning to dive when we used to not be able to get you into the water at all.  You tested your soccer skills.  You advanced at karate.  You made new friends and began to understand what a good friend should be.  You excelled more at school and are making it difficult for all of us to keep up with you.  You enjoyed time with your cousins, just being boys.  You advanced your love for all things Pokemon but maintained your joy of Legos.  You expanded your reading skills and have become overjoyed with books we can read together and enjoy together.

Eight years ago yesterday you started your adventure into this world 6 weeks earlier than planned, because you have always done things your own way in your own time.  Just after midnight on 10/7/04 you began making your descent into this world.  At 12:44am you arrived.  The NICU team was waiting, just in case.  But you looked at them with bright eyes and declared that you would not be needing their services.  They wrapped you in warm blankets and placed you in my arms.  I walked you over to mama to show her your sweet face.  She cried the happiest of tears.

You caused mama to have gestational diabetes.  Your sugar was low after you were born.  I was blessed to give you the tiniest bottle I’ve ever seen.  1 ounce of formula.  I don’t think you’ve stopped eating since!

Your car seat swallowed all 5-1/2 pounds of you.  It was a blustery October day when we brought you home so we had you all wrapped up.  Probably too wrapped up.  We could barely find you amongst your sleeper and blankets.  It’s a wonder the hospital let us bring you home.

We’ve spent the last 8 years learning together.  We’ve figured out how to answer questions like “how did God make me” and “where did I come from” to suit the young mind that was asking them.  No doubt you will ask them again and be looking for more advanced knowledge.  We’ll do the best we can.

You make people laugh and smile.  You made Auntie Heidi smile the sweetest smile as she was making her transition from this world into the next.  You knew what she needed and you found a way to give it to her.  You seem to always know.

You challenge me to the fullest.  We argue and fight and can’t seem to find a middle ground.  Most days that frustrates me.  But often I can realize that you are making me a better parent and you will grow to be a strong adult who won’t be pushed around.

It has been a privilege to watch you grow over the past 8 years.  I hear your hopes and dreams and I know that big things are ahead of you in the upcoming year.  I’m thankful that you are in my life so that I may continue to watch you grow and learn.  You are a truly unique and amazing young man and I’m proud to call you my son.

Happy birthday little bug.  May year #8 be the best one yet!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Infinity

  1. Happy belated birthday to your wonderful little man!

  2. Elastamom says:

    I love this so much. He’s a very blessed little boy!! Happy birthday Eli!

Leave a Reply

