Power of Pink

I spent this past Sunday walking in the Komen Race for the Cure.  I walked with many of my coworkers in celebration of our friend and coworker who was diagnosed with breast cancer last year in August and had a single mastectomy.  She went through chemo and radiation.  She suffered through multiple infections.  Through all of it she came out on the other side smiling and telling the insane stories she’s always told.  She is an amazing woman and it was an honor to walk with her.

Before the race began the coordinators of the race organized one of the most powerful and breathtaking things I’ve ever seen.  They moved all of the survivors who were in attendance onto the field of the baseball stadium and formed a human pink ribbon.  I got chills watching it happen in front of me and I’m getting chills typing it now.  There were more than 17,000 people in attendance that day and 1200 of those were breast cancer survivors.

As we creep into October I take a moment to remind all of my friends that October is Breast Cancer awareness month.  If you haven’t had a mammogram or are overdue for one, stop what you are doing now and schedule it.  Do your monthly breast checks.  That’s how my friend first detected her lump.  And women, please remind your husbands or any other man in your life that men can get breast cancer too.  The only criteria for developing breast cancer is having breasts.

My love to Diana as she continues her battle with this horrendous disease.  We are planning for next year and hope that she is able to once again be a part of that ribbon and walk with us.  My heart reaches out to my dear friend Judy who lost her battle several years ago.  Not a day goes by that I don’t think about the amazing woman you were.  The world is a little less bright without you in it.  To all those who continue to fight and to those whose battle has ended my thoughts are with you.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Power of Pink

  1. Elastamom says:

    That picture is stunning!

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    What an amazing moment, to see the human pink ribbon. I got chills just reading this.

Leave a Reply

