Utopia

I recently finished reading The Giver by Lois Lowry.  This book has been on my to read list for longer than I care to think about.  Any book that wins a medal is a must read as far as I’m concerned.

Without giving too much away, the entire story takes place in a utopian society where everyone is fed and clothed and does the same jobs and all of the people are capable of living up to a certain expectation.  All is well until the main character learns that everything is not really as it seems.  Nothing ever is, right?

This story got me to thinking a lot about our society today.  The book portrayed a community where no one was hungry.  The word held a different meaning in their eyes.  Food was delivered to each home at every meal.  There was no paying for food.  So unlike our world.  It made me wonder what life would be like if no one paid for food.  If no one ever had to go without.  If everyone had a home and a family or at least a sense of community.  If everyone was a contributing member of society and all people were created equal.

Is it possible?  Would such a society even be capable of an ongoing existence?

As I read further I realized that even if it could exist, I don’t know that I would want all aspects of such an environment.

My job would be obsolete.  In this society the children who did not fit a certain mold were released from the community.  There would be no children who are differently abled for me to teach and watch grow, for a family to love.  These children help shape our world and open our minds and help us to see things in so many different way.  Without these children my life would be dull, colorless.  No, I would not want that part of the society.

Everyone would be equal.  There would be no lower class, middle class, upper class, insanely wealthy.  Everyone gets training for their job.  Everyone gets fed daily.  Everyone has a home and clothing.  That I could get behind.  Everyone serves an important purpose and no one is better than anyone else.  What a lovely way to live.

For me the utopia is a combination of many things.  Mostly I long for a world without war.  A world without discrimination and hatred.  A world where the young and the old are well cared for and treated with respect.  A world where insurance companies don’t dictate the medical care we receive.  A world where those that make the rules do so for safety and happiness and not for more power.

I am trying to stay off the political bandwagon, but as I read this book I couldn’t help but make comparisons to our current issues and the insanity that is this presidential election.  It leaves me wondering what it would take to get each of the candidates to find a caring heart and focus on the real issues of our nation instead of spouting political bullshit.  It leaves me wondering if we’ll ever really see change.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Utopia

  1. Elastamom says:

    It was a great book…and very thought-provoking.

  2. Kate says:

    I’m embarrassed it’s still on my to read list. But this brings to mind the dystopias in books – the hunger games (I only read the first one) for example. Nothing is perfect. Perhaps perfection is impossible, only moving toward our ideals.

    But the problem with politics is it’s politics. Money is thrown around for flash, promises are made that are not within their power to give. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

