Can’t Judge A Book By It’s Cover?

Appearances shouldn’t be everything.  Really, they shouldn’t be anything at all.

And yet…  Sad but true fact, they are.

I work very hard to be a non-judgmental person.  I try my best to teach my children the same thing.

I meet and work with hundreds of people every year.  I have learned so much about people in general.  I have learned that there are some teen moms who have endured more and make better parents than some so-called “experienced” parents.  I have learned that what is written on paper does not usually match the amazing being I see in front of me.  Doctors have this way of focusing on the doom and gloom and forgetting to see the beauty.

I will say that in raising the boys we have done well in keeping them from judging people.  They ask questions but do not judge.  They are curious but respectful.  They like their friends for who they are, not for what they look like.

I spent part of tonight at the bookstore with Keegan.  We were buying books for my nephew’s birthday.  We were buying books for the boys for getting all of their spelling words right since school started.  Eli was at diving so it was just the two of us, hanging out and browsing for awesome books.

I picked up the book Eli had requested.  I found the books I wanted to get for my nephew.  Keegan was still browsing the shelves, looking for the perfect book.

It was during this browsing that I noticed my epic fail as a parent.  I saw myself in my son and I was a little saddened.  And then I wasn’t sure if I should be sad.

Keegan found one of his favorite authors and was glancing at the titles of the books the bookstore held.  He came across a title that piqued his interest.  The first thing he did was look at the cover of the book, front and back.  Then he opened the book and looked at all of the illustrations.  He made his decision of which book to buy purely based on the look of the book and it’s title.

Instantly I found myself rapidly scrolling through the various emails I get from a variety of websites offering free Kindle books.  I look at the title and then glance at the jacket art.  If, and only IF, those two things intrigue me, then I will read the description of the book.  After that I make the decision on whether or not to download the title.

So tonight I wondered…  Am I missing out on something amazing because I am truly judging the books by their covers?  Have I taught my son the evils that will keep him from experiencing reading to the fullest?  Will this peril carryover into other parts of his life?  What wrong have I done???

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can’t Judge A Book By It’s Cover?

  1. You are so hard on yourself! I think we all do that at times. xo

    • I know… Thanks for calling me out on it and making me own up to it 🙂 It helps to write it down and get it out of my system so I can let it go and move on. And move on I shall 🙂 xo

  2. Elastamom says:

    I’ve done that a million times…

Leave a Reply

