Happy This Week

I haven’t been around much lately and I aim to make that better starting next week.  Until then I’m gonna link up with Tiffany at Elastamom’s Excerpts  to share all of my happy.  Thankfully I have been blessed with quite a bit of happy!

Eli started diving.  I promise to go into detail more next week and share pictures.  For now I will just beam with pride.  His coach is amazing and already has him working on diving head first BACKWARD off the board.  Eli gets excited when we tell him it’s time to get ready for diving.  He is telling his friends about it at school.  He is proud of himself for his accomplishments.  I think, I hope, that we have finally found his niche.

Keegan started soccer.  It is fun to see him grow and learn all on his own.  This sport is his alone to own this season and he is gladly accepting the challenge.  This past Saturday during his game he did something that astounded us.  He volunteered to change his jersey and play for the opposing team since they were short players and had no one to substitute into the game.  Their poor team played for 3 quarters with no breaks.  Keegan stepped up to the plate to help out and the other team’s coach worked on giving each of his boys a rest.  One truly proud mama here!

Reading!!!  I checked out Gone Girl from the library on my Kindle.  Holy crap is this a twisted book!  I won’t give anything away for those who haven’t read it.  All I will say is that I have a hard time putting it down and can’t wait to see how it ends.  And when I finally read the last word I have a whole plethora of amazing books already loaded for my reading pleasure.  Have I mentioned how much I love my Kindle?!?!

Special time with my honey.  We are crazy busy with soccer and diving and work and play that we have a hard time getting just us time.  This week I was able to stop on my way to work and get her a pumpkin spice latte and surprise her with some chocolate covered espresso beans (her VERY favorite!).  We also got to meet for an impromptu lunch at one of our favorite Chinese restaurants and chat without children for a whole hour!  A meal without anyone uttering the word Pokemon is priceless!

Cooler weather is returning.  I wore jeans for the first time over the weekend.  I pulled out my jacket.  I enjoyed having the oven on in the house to take the chill off.  The leaves are beginning to turn.  Fall is upon us.  I’m getting excited for homemade applesauce and apple pies and eating cinnamon donuts and drinking cider.  I’m stalking the local apple orchard’s website to find out the instant that apple picking season has begun so I can fill the back of my car with tons of apples!

My busy life!  As crazy as it is, our lives are full of laughter and joy and reading and writing and soccer and diving and backyard fires and grilling out and baking.  I am beginning to find the balance and look forward to sharing our crazy world with you once again.

I’ve missed you all and hope you have been finding the happy too!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy This Week

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    I’m happy to hear that things are going so well!!

  2. Kate says:

    What a wonderful post! Happy things indeed!

  3. Elastamom says:

    So much happy!! Did you finish Gone Girl yet?????

Leave a Reply

