Always A Challenge

It started when he was just two.

Mama, how did God make me?

Thankfully he answered his own question then.  I bet He used an excavator like the workers are using to make our house.

Since that very first stumper the questions have been never-ending.

A friend gave me advice years ago to only answer the question your child is asking.  Don’t give more information, don’t give less.  Give exactly what they are looking for.

While this is sound advice, it is difficult to find ways to explain to a 3-year-old how babies are made in a manner that ONLY addresses the question asked.

Still, his challenges are enlightening.  It’s a blessing to have my child be thinking so far ahead.

At the same time it is a challenge in the truest sense of the word.

One of the brightest moments of our lives was his first day of preschool.  Finally, there was someone else for him to grill with questions that we could no longer attempt to answer.  He rose to the occasion and his teachers did their very best.  Some days it was good enough.  Others…  Well…  Yeah…

Kindergarten and first grade were really no different.  If anything it became harder because he was rapidly learning more about the world.  The questions became more expanded and the answers required grew exponentially.

Now we have moved on to second grade.

Looking at the plans for the year that the teacher sent home I already knew we were in trouble.  He did second grade math last year for enrichment.  So the layout for the year has him not learning anything new for several months.  That is not going to fly.

Today he came home sharing that his favorite subjects are math and history.  Both subjects that I did poorly at in school.  Both subjects that I loathed in school.  But he loves them.  LOVES them.  And so I must rise to the occasion and bring his teacher along with me.

He asked for math sheets that will challenge him.  I obliged.

He asked for history projects that will help him learn more about things that happened in the past.  We will continue our weekly trips to the library and hit up the history sections based on his current interests.

And so, back to grade school I go.  Back to Trent White eating glue and dodge ball and timed math tests that gave me hives.  Back to fractions and multiplication and division and basic algebra.  Back to George Washington’s cherry tree and Paul Revere’s ride and the Battle of Gettysburg.

And I’ll do it all for him.

Math and History…  My greatest challenges yet!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Always A Challenge

  1. Kate says:

    Curiosity. It’s so good. And so rough.

    Have you found the series – if you lived… (civil war, revolutionary war, with the (lots of different tribe) Indians). They are amazing.

    Have you seen the grapes of math? A good math puzzler.

  2. Elastamom says:

    You are an awesome Mom!!!

Leave a Reply

