critters…

We made it through the first 2 days of school.  No one hates school.  Everyone is still raving about their teachers.  We are hearing new names at the dinner table, indicating that there will be new friends playing at our house soon.

We have our first homework assignments.  We have our first spelling words that our little first grader can already fly through.  We are falling back into the routine that allows for plenty of sleep and homework at the table and a balance of playing and wind down time.

We have our first letter home from school sharing that some poor family is dealing with Lice and we should be checking our children.

Instantly the itching starts.  There is the tingling at the base of your neck.  Slowly creeping upward.  Chills racing down your spine.

Then you have to check the children…

I slowly combed through Eli’s rather thick, rather dark hair.  There are small white specks on his hair.  My heart races and my stomach tightens.  How am I going to explain to Eli why I am going to have to smother his hair with nasty crap?

Thankfully, on closer examination, I realize that he merely has a dry scalp.  The dandruff flakes easily and, with a simple shake of the hair, is gone from his head.  The relief I felt cannot be described.

Kid #2 turned out to be clean as well.  For now the stars are shining down on us.

Once the deep breaths were taken and the thanks sent to whatever Deity made it possible for us to skip out on this round I stopped to think.

We are critter free this time.  Someone else isn’t.  Someone else is coating their child’s hair in mayonnaise or RID or tea tree or any other remedy found out there.  They are busy washing not only their regular laundry but also scalding the sheets that they just changed last week and the towels they changed yesterday and the couch cushion covers and every blanket in the house.  They will keep up this regiment for a week or two, washing everything in their house from top to bottom, day in and day out.  Right now their life sucks.

So I send my heart out to them.  I hope that their lives are made easier in the upcoming days.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to critters…

  1. Eeek! Critters! I thought Miss D. had caught it after an outbreak at school last year, but luckily, like your kiddos, it was only dry scalp. Phew!

  2. Elastamom says:

    G-R-O-S-S!!!! That is the worst!! So glad it wasn’t you this time!

  3. So glad you all dodged that bullet. How wonderful that the chaps have had two good days at school! Hope there are many more!

Leave a Reply

