They’re Off And Running

Today they returned to school.

To the building and the people that have cared for them so well.

They wanted to ride the bus.  It was nice to see the driver we knew from last year.  It was nice to know he would get it right the first day.  It was nice to know that he was someone Eli could be comfortable with.

We took the obligatory first day of school pictures.  They smiled brightly because we bribed them with 25 minutes of Pokemon before the bus arrived.  Still, I got the pictures I was hoping for.

My heart was breaking a little inside as they got on the bus.  Another year of sending the boys that only we know so well off to people who have yet to learn them.  Will Keegan remember to say that he’s allergic to tomatoes if offered something?  Will he be confident and speak up in class or will he sit back though he knows the answer?  Will Eli’s teacher get his quirks?  Will she see beyond some of his strangeness and realize the amazing child underneath all that?  There is so much I need to tell them.  So much they should know about my boys.  But that’s my issue and I must let it go.  They will be fine and I will survive.

So we escaped to IKEA for a date of shopping child free.  It doesn’t sound all that exciting but let me just explain how amazing it was to browse with no one nagging and to go back for something we forgot without a fit.  It was bliss.

Upon our return we did a quick bathroom makeover for the boys.  When we moved into this house we decorated their bathroom in Lightening McQueen, Mater and other Cars characters.  We had the shower curtain, the night-light and wall stickers.  They boys had picked out their motif and we ran with it.

Well, now they are 6 and 7 and over Lightening McQueen.  Poor guy…  So we let them choose new wall stickers at Costco.  Welcome to Mario and Luigi and all of their friends and enemies.  But they couldn’t go up until we decided on a new shower curtain.  In looking online the only Mario Bros. shower curtains in existence came from Hong Kong for $45 plus shipping.  NO WAY!  So we vowed to find something simple, something versatile.  IKEA had just what we were looking for.  So for less than $40 we redid the entire bathroom and the boys LOVED it!

We finished the bathroom in enough time to lay in bed for 10 minutes and watch the Tigers on TV.  It was the most relaxing we had done all day.  Then it was back in the car to pick up two sweet faces from school.

IT WAS AMAZING MOM!!!  Was all we heard as we walked from the front of the building to the parking lot.  They rattled on about their day and the friends they saw and the friends they made.  We talked about their teachers and what they learned today.  And I felt my entire body relax.

The first day of school sets the standard.  I’m excited to see that we’ve set the bar pretty high once again!

Happy 2012-2013!!!

**side note that I just realized in a mere 10 years I’ll be sending Eli off to his first day of his senior year…  ACKKKKKK!!!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to They’re Off And Running

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    I’m so glad they had a great first day! I’m sending you all the luck that this school year will be a very good one for both of your boys!!!!

  2. I had a good laugh over the last minute panic that in a short decade you’ll have a high school senior. So sweet and hilarious and right up my alley.

    The first day of school give me hives. I’m so scared for my boys, for what people will think of and do to my boys, for how people will misunderstand and judge my boys and set in motion future heartache and self loathing that will last forever and ever and ever. Or at least until senior year. 😉

    Glad they enjoyed it.

    • We got to ease into school with the comforts of people I know. The boys both had preschool teachers that I worked with and so I was fine letting them go every day. Kindergarten was their first experience completely out of my control and I was FREAKED! We have been beyond fortunate in the choices that have been made with regard to teacher assignments for both of the boys. Still every year finds me a complete nervous Nelly. My thoughts to you as you move closer to your first day of school!

  3. Elastamom says:

    I’m so glad they had a great first day!!!

Leave a Reply

