Chuck… Because He’s Awesome!

CHUCK LORRE PRODUCTIONS, #337

Whenever I’ve gone through tough times, well-meaning people have told me that God/the universe does not give us more than we can handle. Well, I’ve been going through a tough time recently, and sure enough, that old saying has been tossed my way on several morose occasions. After some careful consideration, I’ve decided it’s bull$#*!. As an aphorism, it only makes sense in hindsight – after you’ve managed to crawl from the wreckage of whatever calamity that God/the universe decided to toss your way. No one ever uses it to comfort someone who’s been hit by a bus or turned into a puddle of goo by flesh-eating bacteria (although in the right circumstance, that could be a hoot). Another thing I hear a lot is, “this too shall pass.” Again, I know these are words meant to reassure, but somehow they always leave me feeling that heartbreak, rage and grief are going to come shooting out of me like kidney stones through an inflamed urethra. For someone in crisis, I think a more accurate and helpful assessment of reality would be, “Love, sex, food, friendship, art, play, beauty and the simple pleasure of a cup of tea are all well and good, but never forget that God/the universe is determined to kill you by whatever means necessary.” Consider trying that next time you’re called on to do some consoling. If you’re feeling impish, you might also try, “According to the rules of comedy, your suffering will be funny after an undetermined length of time. Maybe not while you’re having your gangrenous leg sawed off, watching your home burn down or learning how to be intimate with your cellmate, but, in the big scheme of things, soon.”

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger?

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chuck… Because He’s Awesome!

  1. Kate says:

    Doesn’t sound like it’s been a good week.

    I’m pretty sure listening is ALWAYS better than vague meaningless advice. And a pan of brownies is good for many. Or a flower. Often a hug.

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    Oh I know exactly what you mean! My most hated phrase that gets tossed at me is: “It could be worse.” like what I am going through isn’t bad enough. It’s demeaning, rude, and just makes me angry when I hear it.

    I’m sorry that you are having a rough time lately. Hugs to you and please know that I am always here for you to email or call. Do you still have my number?

    • Thank you Debbi. I do have your number 🙂 It’s just been a rough transition back into school and work has been chaotic. It just seems like everything is swirling at once. Fortunately things seem to be calming down a bit 🙂

  3. Completely agree. Hate the “everything happens for a reason.” No. Everything happens. Then you find a reason.

    Aphorisms drive me mad.

    Hope you find a moment for a breath and some chocolate. Or whatever helps you. Bubble bath? Wine?

  4. Elastamom says:

    OMG, Heather, this is my life!!! I’m going to use the comedic approach. 😉

Leave a Reply

