2020 Here We Come!

A seed has been planted.

Thank you for your efforts David Boudia!

Your nearly flawless dive created a dream.

You held your stance on that platform with your arms outstretched wide.

As we watched the replay, our hearts tight though we knew the outcome, we watched a 7-year-old boy in our house balance on a 1/2 ball.  He held your stance, nearly perfectly.

He watched you twist and somersault from an insane distance at an unbelievable speed.

He understood the importance of your abundance of bubbles but lack of outward splash.

In that moment we could see in his eyes that he knows he can do this.  He can be like you.

From a continent away you held the hopes and dreams of a small boy in your hands and raised them to an all new level.

Today we reached out to our community to find out where he can learn to dive.  We told him of the commitment that he would have to have to be a good diver.

Mommy, I want to do this.  I don’t care if it’s everyday.

He asked about future Olympics and if we would attend if he went.

Sweetie I’ll be there with bells on if you reach that point.

He asked when and where the next Olympics will be.

Rio.  Like the movie?  Yes, the same place.

I’ll be 11 then…  Can I go to the Olympics when I’m 11?

It’s probably a little early.  Perhaps the 2020 olympics.

I’ll be 15…  Yea, 15 is better.

My son has a dream.

Like the commercials shown throughout these Olympics, he has marked his target date in stone.  I have no doubts he’ll do it if that’s what he truly desires.

It seems so long ago that I wrote about his first attempts at swimming lessons.  And now?  Well, what better dream to have for a sensory seeking boy who loves nothing more than to climb the tallest tree, spin as fast as he can and jump from the highest heights.

Look out 2020.  The United States may be reaching for new gold.  My baby is on his way!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2020 Here We Come!

  1. Kate says:

    To 2020! With dreams and goals and supportive parents, he’ll succeed (if not at diving, at life).

  2. Pingback: Perfect Fit | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

