Genetically Speaking

I have two of the most amazing little boys known to man.

Two boys that I would give my heart and soul for.

Two boys who call me mommy.

Only one of those boys carries a part of me genetically.

It is a small tidbit of information that truly means nothing but is information that we have shared with the boys.  They know who their birth mom was but they also know that they have 2 mommies always.

From time to time it is made very obvious to us just who is related to whom.  That whole nature vs. nurture could be a study in our house!  It is amazing to go into the boys bedrooms after they are sound asleep and just look at them.  Keegan sleeps soundly in the exact position that I tend to sleep best.  Eli sleeps just like my honey.  They did not learn this, it is a part of them.

For years, and years and, well, years my honey has laughed at and I’m sure been annoyed by a bizarre “gift” that I have.  I know the words to practically every single Christmas song every written – at least the first verse and many I know multiple verses.  Also, I can name that tune in a very limited number of notes.  We recently went to a Sarah McLachlan concert and I would get giddy and spout off an “I love this song” after only a chord or two had been played.

I took the boys to the library tonight to pick some much deserved gifts from the treasure box for tons of reading.  We looked around for books afterward.  Keegan has been on a kick of wanting the Kidz Bop CDs after seeing the commercials on TV.  The library had one to check out and take home and Keegan begged for it.  I gave in though I have difficulty listening to children sing some of my favorite songs, but whatever.  He begged and begged to listen to it as soon as we got into the car.  I must love him because I removed my Brave soundtrack to put in Kidz Bop.  The music started and thankfully my FIL called so I didn’t have to focus in on the music.

We stopped at a store before going home.  When we left the store the music filled the car once again.  The current song ended and a new one began.  The first stanza played, music with no words, and Keegan lit up.  I love this song!  How do you even know it I boldly asked.  It’s the money, money, money song mommy!  Sure enough the brats kids started singing and I knew the song immediately.

Keegan sang along – knowing most of the words, I might add.  I drove down the road, headed toward home.  He is my baby, my flesh and blood.  He looks like me, he sleeps like me, he has my temper and stubbornness.  And now?  Well, now he has my annoying gift for music too.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Genetically Speaking

  1. Elastamom says:

    Isn’t that amazing? Gabe stands just like I did when I played softball…according to my Mom. Aren’t those little things crazy? Gabe always asks me how I know ALL the songs…and I just say it’s a gift. I wasn’t blessed with a singing voice, but damn it, I know all the words!!

  2. Kidz Bop? You are a better mama than I.

Leave a Reply

