Wheels

lights reflect loudly off the newly waxed floor

only a gym floor can shout out that kind of shine

your are camouflaged in a myriad of teal shirts

my eyes squint to clearly see the single tree in the forest

you emerge from the back like the sun peaking through the clouds

something is blocking my full view of you

something that moves with you

something that you are making move

smiles and laughter erupt around you

this is a game you are playing

it is not for my benefit, you haven’t seen me arrive yet

i watch you until our eyes meet

mine threaten to overflow with tears

you are pushing a sweet, smiling, laughing boy in a wheelchair

you are making him a part of the game

you are laughing together as only little boys can do

you think it’s cool that he has a “tank” to ride in all day long

you see this little boy for who he is

you pay little attention to his accessories

you say goodbye to him like you do the other children

you vow to play with him again next time

you boast about how much fun he is to be around

you ask how soon you can see him again

you cannot possibly imagine how much my heart is swelling

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wheels

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    love, love, love this!

  2. Pingback: Happy | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

