Free

I have been away from this space for far too long.  It’s been a crazy few weeks filled with lots of highs and lows.  Of course all of this makes for great blog fodder, right?!?!  That is, if I find the time to sit here and share it with you.

I’ll start the week off with a shout out to all of the families out there experiencing a gluten-free diet  for whatever reason.  Because really, the reason doesn’t matter.

I have been going through some medical things recently.  I won’t go into the gory details.  Just know that I’ve been treated for a UTI, been told to stay near a hospital “just in case my appendix should decide to rupture,” and been through a barrage of medical testing with more yet to come.  I’m currently in denial at the medical bills that will soon begin piling up in my mailbox.  Still, there are no answers.

Last week at my doctor appointment I was informed that adults can develop Celiac Disease at any time in their life.  It was a long shot, but she wanted me to try a gluten-free diet for a couple of weeks to see if it would make a difference.

I’m currently on day 5 of said diet and I’m DYING!  My only saving grace is that it’s summer and I don’t eat a lot of carbs in the summer.  That helps cut down on the things I need to cut out!  But truly, I’m feeling grateful that this doesn’t seem to be helping at all.  I don’t do any diet well.  I’m just not committed enough.  Sure, if it were life or death I could do it.  If it really meant feeling better I could do it.  I’m glad I likely won’t have to do it much longer.

A few things have been my saving grace in all of this.

The gluten-free aisle at the grocery store has grown exponentially in the past few years.  I was able to get some delightful treats that DON’T taste like cardboard.  It has helped make me feel like I’m not left out of dessert time.

Fruit salad.  Oh how I love summer and a large, cut up watermelon placed haphazardly in a bowl and given a bunch of variety of yummy friends to mull around with.  I could seriously eat fruit salad all day long!

My dear friend Dana over at The Kitchen Witch.  She recently posted this salad and it was a life saver!  I was busy doing up homemade mac and cheese for the boys of the house and getting a little sad that I wouldn’t be able to partake.  My honey was reading through blogs and started listing off the ingredients of this salad.  We had everything except the cherries and feta (sadly we’d JUST run out of feta!).  I sent her to the store to get the needed ingredients and anxiously looked forward to her return.  Wow and Yum are the only words I have to describe this!  Dana you have no idea what a blessing you were to me in that exact moment.  I’m so glad I found you!

So my limited regiment will continue for another week plus.  I will hear back from the doctor tomorrow to schedule yet another round of testing.  My arms are beginning to look like those of a heroine addict.  The bruises are varying degrees of blue and green.  My body has been prodded in ways I’d never imagined.

Through it all I’m doing my best to smile and engage myself in summer.  After all, it could be so much worse.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Free

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Hang in there Heather! I hope you get some answers very soon!

  2. Sweetie, I am glad I was of some help to you. My dear friend Adrienne has Celiac and she has to be so very careful of everything she puts in her mouth. It makes my heart hurt just to watch it. Seriously, if you do have Celiac, move to Boulder county. Every store and restaurant has gluten-free options now, because Coloradans are so freakishly attentive to their health. ((you))

  3. Elastamom says:

    I hope you find some answers soon. We did gluten-free a few years ago with Olivia and it was torturous! Thank goodness there are more options available these days!!

Leave a Reply

