Routine

Normally we establish a summer routine.

It holds our world together.  Makes us feel at peace.

We cheated and started the summer school break with a vacation.

No routine can ever be established on vacation.

I am pleased to announce that we had a routine for an entire week.  One whole week people.

Likely to be the last week this summer.

This week my nephew comes into town.  We haven’t seen him for about a year.  He and his mom moved to Philadelphia last summer.  My BIL is driving here now with my nephew in tow.  Tomorrow there will be lots to celebrate.

This week’s routine is down the drain.

Next week is the 4th of July – a day of in the middle of the week for me and my honey.  Another way to mess with the routine.

And yet…

We are having fun.  We are laughing.  We are having sleep overs and stay up late movie nights.  We are reading and writing and playing.  We are going to ball games and planning trips to the drive-in.  We are counting down the days to soccer and looking forward to watching the Olympics on TV.

In a way we are getting through our own routine of welcoming change.

What a delightful summer it will be because of it.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Routine

  1. Routine can be overrated sometimes, right?

  2. Elastamom says:

    Our routine is…there’s no routine!!! I’m getting used to it…hope all goes well for you too!!!

Leave a Reply

