Searching for Happy

Check out Elastamom this week for all that made her happy!

Last Sunday I hugged and kissed goodbye to my nephew and my BIL, not knowing when we would next gather together.  I returned to work on Monday to a very busy and hectic week.  Through it all I have been looking for the happy, knowing I wanted to be here this week to share it with you.  It was harder than most weeks, but always there is a silver lining.

The boys and I made an impromptu trip to the library earlier this week.  Keegan officially got his first library card and was beyond excited to check out Goosebump books at the library.  They are a little advanced for him but it offers up great together reading time.  And, who am I to discourage him from reading!

The boys started camp today.  I am so thankful for the amazing programs our community puts in place for kids.  I was leery about dropping the boys off, recalling last summers camp and how Keegan cried and was clinging to my leg every time I dropped them off.  Today they both put down their bags and went in search of other kids to play with.  I barely got a hug goodbye.  It made my heart smile.  They will be happy there this summer.  That will make my days so much easier.

My honey and I got a dinner out, alone.  The boys had a playdate with a friend and they were there for dinner per the mother’s request.  We took the liberty of having a quiet meal with an adult beverage.  We talked about so many things that we never get time to talk about.  It was calm and relaxing.  Something we need to do so much more often but rarely get the time.

Watching my doofus of a dog chase lightning bugs.  He will blatantly ignore the rabbit that is 5 feet away from him in the yard but will take down an unsuspecting lightning bug the moment its little butt flashes.  It’s truly the most humorous thing I’ve ever witnessed.

That is my silver lining for the week.  Please share your happy and make yourself smile 🙂

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Searching for Happy

  1. The image of your doofus dog made me smile. Happy thing this week? Watching the tan lines form on little bodies who’ve spent daily time at the pool.

  2. Elastamom says:

    That’s a lot of happy for the first week back to work!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

