Breakin’

Linking up with Mama Kat today to share my favorite place to chill out.

When I need a break from life, from the world, from the humdrum of day-to-day I start to itch for a trip north.

My in-laws bought a cabin on 10 acres of land in Northern Michigan about 8 years ago.  It is quiet.  It is serene.  There are a maximum of 4 television stations at any given moment.  Cell phone reception is beyond limited.  There is a land line but no one calls it because no one knows we are there.

The birds spend their day calling their mates.  The hummingbirds buzz over the heads of anyone sitting on the front porch to get to their feeding destination.  The finches flock around the feeder off the back porch.   The woodpeckers rat-a-tat-tat away to save the trees from insect infestation.  The deer step quietly up to the salt lick and cautiously observe anyone nearby.  The turkeys strut up the walkway headed back to the woods.  The chipmunks scamper from wood pile to wood pile.  The salamanders wiggle behind doors and under rocks.

The fresh smell of Lake Michigan is enveloped in the breeze.  No matter the temperature it is rarely too hot to be outdoors.  The trees sway in the wind, rustling their leaves and providing just enough shade to keep everyone comfortable.

Nestled between two very sturdy trees is where I find my happy.  Where I get my peace, my calm and my break from the world.  I share it with a bright red bolster pillow and a book.  Sometimes there is a blanket when the breeze is a little cool.  Always there is quiet.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breakin’

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Sounds Heavenly…

  2. I want a retreat like that! Sounds like heaven.

  3. Mimi says:

    That place sounds so peaceful!! I really would love to get a hammock some day!

  4. sooooo envious! glad you have a great place to go and that you are able to enjoy it. (and thanks for sharing it, too!)

Leave a Reply

