Lacking

Silver Lake Sand Dunes…  Silver Lake, Michigan

It was such a wonderful idea.  We would all go together.  We would jeep through the dunes.  We would wander like the Prince of Persia through the sandy hills.  We would take a dip in the lake – both of them…

It was such a wonderful idea…

We rented a Jeep Wrangler since the Patriot would never make it up the hills.  The boys were so excited to sit in it and begged for us to just keep it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The anticipation was building.  My BIL was readying his self-owned Jeep Wrangler for the dunes.  Everyone took a deep breath and headed up the entrance trail.

We wove around through the trail heading up to the dunes.  We hit the real sand and I kicked on the 4 wheel drive.  We were off.

Keegan was sitting next to me just beaming.  C’mon mom, let’s get going!

We braved the terrain and headed for the first hill.  I skipped the first test hill as instructed by the Jeep rental people.  It scared the shit out of me anyway.  120+ feet of straight up sand.  So not my thing.

I began to climb a hill that I thought looked more our size.  I eased to the top – again as instructed by the dude holding my credit card number in case I decide to send his Jeep rolling down the tallest dune.  As I got closer to the top my heart was crawling rapidly toward my stomach.  I was sitting as tall as my body could stretch trying to peer out over the edge of the Jeep and into the plummeting dune, my mind scrolling HOLY SHIT across its marquee.  I inched closer and closer and closer to the edge until there was nowhere to go but down.

The bottom couldn’t come fast enough and yet I was hoping that we were merely inching down.  I could hear the tour guide over the CB radio (yes, CB RADIO) saying that he has clocked people doing more that 100mph over the dunes.  I look down and realizing that I’m barely topping 30mph and feeling like it’s faster than I have ever driven in my life.

And then there was flat land.  Oh how I love flat land. 

I heard the voice from the box on the dash tell the other drivers that this was just like driving in Michigan snow.  Yes, yes it was – except for the big ass  hills with drop offs on the other side.

We were watching the clock.  Ticking down the minutes.  Overly thankful that we had only rented the Jeep for an hour.  We followed my BIL up and down a few of the dunes letting him be the brave one.  After all, if he would do it in his Jeep then we could certainly do it in ours.

As we drove back to the parking lot we were beaming.  Thrilled that we were returning the lovely Jeep to its rightful owners.  Allowing it a chance to  be driven by yet another idiot thrill seeker.

We talked about our experience.  It was certainly a bucket list adventure.  One that can be crossed off and never attempted again.

I am lacking a Y chromosome.  I am lacking that need to drive off a cliff going faster than the speed of light.  I am lacking the crazy.

We graciously turned in the keys to the fun little Wrangler and piled back into the family friendly Patriot.  We drove like the mommies that we are back to the dunes – the walking side this time.  We hiked up and out.  We spotted my BIL’s Jeep still on the dunes, filled with all the boys I love.  We copped a squat on the dunes and watched them have fun, watched them express their Y chromosome as only boys know how.

Eventually they joined us for our hike.  There was diving in the sand and jumping in the sand and rolling in the sand and angels in the sand.  No stress in the sand.  Yes, this is where the X chromosome belongs.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lacking

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    What awesome pictures of the boys on the dunes!
    I’m glad you were brave enough to try this!

  2. Elastamom says:

    You are so brave. I can barely drive the jetski. Go you!!!!

Leave a Reply

