Saying Goodbye

I’m struggling.

Tomorrow is the last day of school for my boys.  The day they have longed for since the end of April.

It is another somber day for me.

I am not discouraged because they are growing up.  I am gladly embracing the boys they are becoming and all that they are learning in the process.  I am looking forward to all that next year will bring.

Instead, I am saddened that we are saying goodbye to yet another group of amazing teachers.

It started with preschool.  Each of the boys had the most amazing teachers.  Teachers who cared, teachers who listened, teachers who taught with their hearts.  These beautiful women set the stage for success as each of the boys entered kindergarten.

We have been fortunate to have the same kindergarten teacher for both boys.  She is a lovely woman who has done amazing things for both of the boys.  She has recognized their differences and has treated them both like the individuals they are.  We are saying goodbye to her for real this year.  There are no more opportunities for us to have her in our lives.  All of the children who have her in the fall are truly fortunate.  She will care for their child, she will teach their child and she will create a desire for learning that can only continue to grow.

We were introduced to Eli’s interventionist midway through the school year in kindergarten.  What a truly delightful woman.  She is understanding and kind and she doesn’t fall for Eli’s negotiations.  That makes her very unique!  I enjoyed each time that Eli came home complaining about Mrs. K’s rules.  I knew it meant that she was doing something in his best interest and that he couldn’t weasel his way out of it.  She always knew what was best for him.  She followed him into first grade and has been our rock in all of the changes and troubles that he has experienced outside of school this year.  Sadly she is tethered to kindergarten and first grade.  We must say goodbye to her and hope that Eli’s next interventionist will understand him in the same ways.

Finally, the first grade teacher.  A little birdie told me that we are likely to get the same first grade teacher for Keegan.  I requested this and am delighted that it will likely happen.  She is such a passionate teacher.  She sees each of the students in her class individually and works very hard to help each of them grow in their interests and fosters yet another growth in that desire for learning.  She has been so powerful for Eli this year.  He wants to do everything to please her – he tries so very hard.  And she has rewarded him for all his efforts.  He is so much more confident and so in love with learning.  She has taken everything the kindergarten teacher started and run wild with it.  We couldn’t have asked for a better teacher.

I poured my heart out in similar ways in thank you notes for each of these amazing people.  I have sent emails to the principal of the school sharing my gratitude for all that these wonderful women have meant to my boys, have meant to my family.

Still I am struggling to say goodbye.  I don’t do well with change any more than my son does.  I do look forward to the future.  We haven’t been let down yet.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saying Goodbye

  1. It *is* really hard when you find wonderful teachers who really “get” your kid–you just want to hold onto them forever. Praying that your luck still holds this coming year.

  2. That is so hard–leaving a great teacher who really “gets” your kid. We had great luck with D. until this past year. Boy, the good ones really make a difference.

Leave a Reply

