Thoughts

There are so many floating in my mind.   I will put them here randomly.  After all, there is far too much structure in my world most days.

The boys have discovered the Goosebumps books.  What a delightful series that is.  There is some language (idiot, stupid, etc) that I would prefer to do without.  But these books keep my boys coming back for more.  Eli has been thrilled to read each morning and fusses to put the book down for bed each night.  I’m all about any book that can do that anyone.

That is my marker for a good book.  A book that I’m negotiating with myself about how much more I can read before I MUST go to bed.  A book that I carry with me everywhere hoping to read a page or two at lunch or after work or, hell, even in the bathroom.  I want to be transported into the world of the story and lose myself.

This end to the school year has been remarkably awful.  I don’t know why it seems worse than years before but it does.  The benefit this year is that Eli is able to voice a little better what he is feeling.  The downfall is that there is still not a damn thing I can do to make it better.  Transition is just hard for him.  Period.  No matter how often I lay out the game plan for the ENTIRE summer – yes, for him I plan that far in advance – it doesn’t seem to help.  He is nervous and sick to his stomach daily.  He is hyper and off the hook.  He has extreme emotional meltdowns.  Parents long to make things ok for their children, to fix things that are wrong.  I can’t fix this…

We have been upside down with the information that there are squatters in our neighborhood!  A family apparently broke into a home and moved in – mom, dad, kids and dog.  They have been living there for almost a year.  It explains so much about these very odd people.  Still…  It’s bizarre knowing that they are “living” so close to us!

We are heading north this weekend for a full week.  A full week that will include a visit from my brother-in-law and nephew – my sister’s lovely little family.  I cannot begin to express how incredibly excited I am at the mere thought of seeing them again!  I have been counting down for some time now and the end of that count is almost near.  I am grinning from ear to ear!

I got to attend field day at the boys’ school today.  My handsome, young men made me so proud.  I was able to have conversations with each of their teachers and loved hearing all of the things they had to say about my boys.  I found this great idea on Pinterest to have a child’s teacher sign a copy of “Oh, The Places You’ll Go” every year and give it to them when they graduate.  Though Eli has moved on from Kindergarten, Keegan has the same teacher.  So, I gave her both books so that we could get Eli’s brought up to date.  I am so excited to do this for the boys.   I think it will be so special for them when they graduate.  Not that I’m at all looking forward to that…  It will happen so fast…

Those are my thoughts tonight, random as they may be.

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

