Happy Unplugged

Linking up with the lovely Tiffany at Elastamom today 🙂

We had a rough Memorial Day weekend.  We went north for quiet and bliss.  We got yelling and crazy instead.

This time of the year is always so hard.  Eli’s anxiety is skyrocketing as the school year comes to a close.  Last weekend he jumped off the deep end.  He was so hyper and so wired and so overtired and Keegan just fed off of it.  It was so crazy that even up north where there are a maximum of 3 rules the boys couldn’t hold it together.  And what we noticed as we sat down was that electronics made it so much worse.  The DS made them crazy.

So we grounded them from electronics for a week.

That is my happy this week.

Our house has been quiet.  Blissfully quiet.

There have been extra backyard soccer games and opportunities for rolling around in the human hamster ball.

There were nightly walks along the garden, marveling at the growth of the various herbs, vegetables and fruits that we planted.  There were lessons taught about each plant and laughing boys as they helped water the garden to keep things growing.

And there was reading.  So very much reading.  We are working our way through a Goosebumps book together.  I love it when they beg for more because a chapter has left us hanging.  I’m blown away by the advancement of Keegan’s reading this year.  He is reading words I had no idea he knew and moving his way through books that should be far too difficult for him.  Eli is enjoying series books – how I love that about him!  I can hardly wait until he’s able to read Harry Potter and Chronicles of Narnia and Percy Jackson and…  Well the list gets longer and longer.

There has been so much more happy and so much less yelling.  The meltdowns seem to have all but ceased.  Keegan only has them as bedtime approaches and he should have been sleeping an hour before we get him to bed.

Everyone in the house has found a calm, an inner peace.  The begging for TV is gone and video games aren’t even a second thought.  They are no longer grounded after Saturday.  Still there will be restrictions placed on all things electronic.  The peace the lack of plugs creates is far beyond priceless.

Less truly is so much more.

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Unplugged

  1. Kate says:

    Unplugging is best for us too.

  2. Elastamom says:

    I’m so glad you joined me!!! We have had a ban on electronics too…it’s just too easy for them to veg too much..and fight. Here’s hoping Eli feels better soon.

Leave a Reply

