Yin and Yang

Linking up with Mama Kat and her prompt about whether or not my boys are morning people…

The sun rises early.  Close to 6am in the summer.  Closer to 7am in the winter.

In one bedroom sleeps a little boy with a sleep mask shielding his eyes, a room darkening shade and double layered, navy curtains.  With the first peek of morning through all of his cover his eyes jump open.  He stretches and yawns.  His legs swing over to the edge of his bed and his feet reach the floor.

It’s all downhill from there.

He will creep gently into my room to see if I’m awake.  If I’m not ready to rise just yet he will lay next to me and snuggle.  If by some miracle I’m already up and moving then he gives me a hug and scurries to his room to dress himself for the day.  He brushes his teeth and heads downstairs to read a couple of chapters or ponder his latest Pokemon find.  If I’m not moving quickly he will return upstairs, waiting rather impatiently for breakfast.  He needs to eat now.  The day is wasting.

In the other bedroom lies a sweet little blonde boy.  His room is lightly colored and accented by red and creme striped curtains.  The sunlight behind them makes the stripes simply glow and adds a warmth to the room that makes him want to snuggle up with his blanket and pillow and stay just a little longer.

On the days where a ticking clock reminds us so very loudly of our impending schedule, I must wake him with some light tickles and serenade him with a line or two of The Walrus and the Carpenter – Disney style.  He stretches and yawns and rolls over, pulling the covers up in one smooth motion.  The tickles begin again.  He must wake up with a smile or the day is done before it starts.  Little Oysters, Little Oysters… But answers there came none…  And this was scarcely odd because… They’d been eaten, everyone… 

Finally the giggles come.  He stretches again and starts to talk.  He gets a hug and some snuggles.  He may stretch another time before slowly moving out of bed and into the bathroom.  He returns to his room and strips down to his birthday suit.  He stands in front of his closet and ponders what to wear.  He will stand there so long that I have moved downstairs to feed the hungry, ready to get on with the day child.  He will stand there so long that his cereal is starting to get soggy.  When I remind him of the time he will holler down that he hasn’t gotten dressed because I didn’t tell him long sleeves or short sleeves yet.  I remind him for possibly the 10th time in 15 minutes what the weather will be like and what I recommend that he wear.  I don’t make recommendations on what clothing, merely the appropriate style to fit the weather.  He has to pick his clothing and it has to be just right or again, the day is done before it started.

He wanders downstairs and slides into the bench at the table.  He may fuss because I’ve given him cereal instead of waffles.  Or, he may delight in the fact that his Gorilla Munch is just soggy enough.  One never knows how breakfast will affect his mood.  You can only cross your fingers and hope for the best.

If the day is open, if the schedule is gone with the wind, then this little man is even more sluggish with beginning his day.  He is left to sleep until his little blue eyes creep open on their own.  Most certainly it will be well after his brother has conquered the morning and is ready for what the rest of the day will bring.

He wanders downstairs in his jammies and snuggles up on the far corner of the couch with MY favorite blanket, even if it’s already steaming hot outside.  He prefers to have a parent snuggle with him but will sit on his own.  He will watch an episode of Phineas and Ferb, maybe even an episode of Pokemon.  The TV will be turned off and he will be made to eat something for breakfast because he gets cranky if he doesn’t eat within an hour of getting up, yet he refuses to eat before he’s been up for at least 30 minutes.

And so go our mornings.  We have learned to accommodate the child who wants to start his day as the robins are beginning their morning worm hunt.  We have learned to accommodate the child who prefers to cover his head with his softest blanket and laze the day away in his favorite pajamas.  We are working hard to teach them to be flexible in their schedules and morning routines.

But not too hard, for who am I without my morning date with the snooze button, my favorite blanket and (eventually) my steaming cinnamon tea latte?  Let’s just say that the apple didn’t fall far from the tree when it comes to days ending before they started…

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yin and Yang

  1. Elastamom says:

    I’m looking forward to lazy mornings here soon!!!

  2. Jenny says:

    I fully understand as the Mom of 2 boys as well! My boys are night and day too…total ying and yang! Great Post!

  3. Mimi says:

    My girls are complete opposites with their morning wakenings. My sons on the other hand pretty much wake up at exactly the same time. So strange how our bodies function!

  4. Kat says:

    What is the deal with these opposites we create? Just crazy….at least we get a nice variety every day. 🙂

  5. Chester Boston says:

    Sleep masks do help in getting a better quality of sleep to prevent those annoying bright lights. ‘

    Remember to view this useful internet site
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/soy-milk-estrogen/

Leave a Reply

