Candy and Games

Today I did a presentation for my job.

Let  me preface this entire post with the reminder that I work with infants and toddlers.  Everyday.  And I love it!

Today’s presentation was on child development and discipline.

It was a presentation given to a group of high school Home Economics students.  12 of them.

Right now I wish to send kudos to all of my friends who are brave enough to teach these creatures on a daily basis.  You all are my heroes.  I’m not sure why you do what you do but I’m thankful for you!

Several of them slept through my presentation.  A couple of them were rude and didn’t care.  Thankfully, one of them actually paid attention.

We had the students complete an evaluation on us after the presentation so that we knew what we could improve on.

One student was honest and said he didn’t learn anything because he slept through it.

One student stated that she learned about spanking – though we repeatedly talked about reasons to not spank and provided multiple suggestions for other discipline methods.

One student shared that the thing to make our presentation better was candy and games.  The adults we present to usually ask for coffee and donuts.  I guess this is the teenage equivalent.

In the end my hope is that they learned something.  That they walked away from today hearing something, anything that will save them from a life of treating their current children or children to be poorly.  Anything that will keep them from losing custody of the children they should love with all their hearts.  Something that will help them to gain a better understanding of why young children do what they do.

Maybe I do get why you high school teachers do what you do.  These kids provide you a chance to change the future one teenager at a time.

Again, my best to you all.  I will continue to change the world one awesome baby at a time!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Candy and Games

  1. As a former high school teacher, this cracked me up!

  2. Elastamom says:

    Oh boy…teenagers are tough but I sure do love teaching them! Candy is always good. 😉

Leave a Reply

