Another Adventure

It came to our attention a couple of years ago that Keegan has an allergy to tomatoes.  If not a full-blown allergy, at least a very strong sensitivity.  He, fortunately, does not swell up or have any apparent breathing concerns.  He typically gets a rash and will vomit.  It took us awhile to put it all together but we were thankful that we finally did.

Last weekend the boys were climbing tree.  I posted on Facebook and even shared it in Friday’s post here how delighted I was that Keegan actually allowed his feet to leave the ground.  He came to us later in the day with swollen hands and fingers with what appeared to be welts on the fingertips.  We gave him Benadryl and assumed that he had gotten bit by something in the tree.  We watched him closely and were relieved when the swelling went down after about 20 minutes and didn’t return.

We went to Keegan’s soccer game on Saturday.  It was our only game of the weekend.  We were thrilled to have a completely open Saturday for a change.  After the first few minutes of the game, Keegan called me over to the sidelines.  He said his fingers were fat again and they hurt.  Sure enough they were swollen again and the welts were back.  This time he had not been climbing the tree and hadn’t even been outside as it was only 9:30 in the morning.  I asked if he would be okay to keep playing and he said yes.

I returned to my seat, grabbed my phone and walked away from the game to call the pediatrician’s office.  Thank goodness for Saturday hours!  I explained the situation to the nurse and she was able to fit us in immediately following Keegan’s game.

He played great.  I resisted the urge to run home and grab the Benadryl.  I wanted the doctor to see exactly what was going on with his hands.  We left the field and went straight to the pediatrician’s office.  It was only a few minutes before we got in to see the doctor.  His hands were no longer swollen.

She looked him over and asked us questions.  He still had a welt on his hand – that turned out to be a hive.  She felt it was an allergic reaction but we still didn’t know to what.  We shared his tomato allergy and how that manifests itself.  She ordered allergy testing to be done that day.

I started to be concerned.  This was now going to be an afternoon spent in a room while Keegan was scratched to pieces with loads of allergens placed on his back.  Little did I know that it’s all done in a blood test now!  I was still worried about how this blood test would go over but this way would be so much easier.

Keegan and I headed down to the hospital lab to get his blood drawn.  I explained to him on the way what the procedure would be like.  He was scared.  I brought his DS to help distract him.  I hoped it would be enough.  We had a fantastic phlebotomist!  She was so kind and talked Keegan through the entire procedure.  She told him to watch everything that she did.  I did my best to be the calm mom on the other side of the table, encouraging him every step of the way.  He didn’t shed a tear and it was over before he knew what was happening.

It all went so much faster than we were expecting.  We were still able to salvage the day with a trip to the zoo and a dinner out.  It was lovely.

And now we wait.  We should hear from the doctor by the middle of the week with the results of the testing.  The next plan of action will be made at that time.  We are hoping to have some answers for our little man.  We are hoping it will be nothing too serious, nothing that will impair his eating anymore than it already is.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Adventure

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    How scary! I hope you get some answers from the test!

  2. Elastamom says:

    I hope it’s something weird that’s easy to avoid!!!

  3. Pingback: Happy? | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

