Happy

My dear friend Tiffany at Elastamom’s Excerpts has begun a tradition of documenting the happy of the week on Fridays.  With as crazy as life has been it sounds like such a truly amazing idea.  So I’m hopping on board for all that’s been happy for me this week.

Monday soccer practice was cancelled.  It sounds so menial but when you run and run all week long a little rain that floods a practice field in the coach’s backyard is a beautiful thing.  We were able to get both boys to karate on Monday instead of running like mad to multiple places on both Monday and Wednesday.

The garden is truly taking off.  Eli helped me plant gladiola bulbs and lily bulbs.  We planted herbs and vegetables and strawberries.  Eli loves to play in the dirt with me.  It is such a beautiful time that we share together.  He helps me water and watches over the plants.  He takes such pride in what we grow together.  I love the smile on his face when he is caring for the delicate plants.

Keegan conquered his fear of heights, kind of.  He climbed the tree in our backyard.  He didn’t go quite as high as Eli will but he was higher than I’ve ever seen him get.  The downfall?  He has a lot of difficulty climbing down.  And so this mommy has to put her fear of heights aside to climb up and rescue him.  Still, he is climbing.  How can I not love that.

Wednesday we attended a music concert at school that Eli was participating in.  He grinned from ear to ear when he saw us arrive.  It was amazing to see him performing and participating in something so stressful for him.  I’ll admit it…  I cried.  I’m never going to make it through his high school graduation or his college graduation or his wedding.  I’m a sap when it comes to my boys.  The pride that I had watching him had to have been shooting out of my body like sunbeams.

Today we will attend a Butterfly Ball in Eli’s class.  It is in honor of mother’s day.  He is so very excited to have us both come.  We have been given strict instructions that we are to spend all of our time with him and not help in the classroom no matter what.  We will abide by this request because this day is about us and our family.

I am overjoyed by the number of backyard soccer games that we’ve been playing.  There is always so much laughter and fun and hugs and smiles.  We are all worn out and the boys are working so hard on enhancing their skills.  It’s a wonderful time had by all.

That’s my hella lotta happy for the week.  How about you?

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy

  1. What a great idea! Here’s my happy: Miss D. has the barfs, which is not good, since her sister had them two days prior, but my husband is off work today. Miss D. and her Daddy are cuddled up, watching Jurassic Park. I think he’s more excited than she is.

  2. Elastamom says:

    So much happy! I’m glad you played along…maybe we can do it again this Friday! 😀

Leave a Reply

