Overwhelmed

I look around.

I see stacks of laundry – finally put away thanks to my honey.

I see a dishwasher that needs to be emptied – my brother will do that tomorrow.

I see a house in severe need of decluttering and general cleaning.  That’s my job, somewhat.

Is it a dirty house?  No.  Is it a filthy house?  No.

But it’s driving me batty.

The Easter baskets still sit on the piano.  The stack of papers is continually piling up on the stereo and printer.  The bathroom needs to be cleaned.  The kitchen table is gathering toys and papers and a box of crayons.    I don’t want to even talk about the nightmare that is my laundry room…

Then there is the conglomeration of emails and blog posts that haven’t crossed my eyes.  My apologies to those I am neglecting!

But I don’t regret the things that pull me away from my day-to-day life.

4 soccer games and a kindergarten friend’s birthday party.

Digging in the dirt with my Eli, planting flower bulbs and herbs and vegetables.  Moving herbs and a tree from the front yard to the back yard.  Sprucing up the flower bed.

Each night of the week finds karate or soccer or both.  Fridays we crash because we all need it.  Saturday is family movie night.

Somewhere in there laundry gets done and folded.  It’s either do that or buy the boys new underwear.  Somewhere in there the dishwasher gets loaded and unloaded, the remaining dishes get done and put away.

The day-to-day gets muddled through.  It’s the above and beyond that suffers.

I need a break,  I need for the world to stop turning for a moment.

Because misery loves company I need to hear that you are feeling my pain.  How are you managing?  Does your house look more than lived in?  Do you have piles of laundry too?

Thanks for humoring me 😉

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Overwhelmed

  1. Kate says:

    I cannot possibly get on top of everything in my world. You’re not alone.

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    Oh my yes! We’ve been having some family discussion lately because I simply can’t do it all by myself. I’ve actually been trying to write a post about this, but of course I never have time to finish it.

    As you said, the things that keep us from the daily housekeeping tasks are more than worth it. HUGS

  3. Patty says:

    Oh, crap, I thought you were describing my house. Still have some plastic Easter grass hanging around and we have way too much clutter. Add to that the fact that my landscaping is horrendous (we have a weed so tall that it looks like it is reaching into my sons’ bedroom window) and I am totally overwhelmed. I would so love to have it all stop for a day or two so I could catch up–I’d probably need more than a week, though.

  4. My house is laundry Hades right now…

  5. Elastamom says:

    You read my post on Tuesday, right? Right there with you…and then some. I also had the stomach flu the last 2 days so you can imagine what things are like over here. Oye. We need a margarita date soon, no? I am sending you strength to overlook all the sucky and focus on the happy.

Leave a Reply

