Neglect

Our lives are busy – like most everyone else.

We run, everyday.  Driving to karate and soccer practice and soccer games.

I work 8:30 to 4:30 daily.  Some days are longer.

Somewhere in there dinner must be made.  Somewhere in there laundry must be done.  Somewhere in there the dishes must be washed.  Somewhere in there the everyday parts of life need to be attended to.

Something along the way always gets left out.

Sadly, I let it be me.

Daily I look in the mirror and frown.  I struggle to fit into my spring/summer wardrobe.  I’m eating a lot on the go and not doing what I should to keep myself healthy when eating.  And exercise?  Well I honestly can’t count the walk from the parking lot to the soccer field as a workout can I?

I continue to say I’m going to pull the roller blades out of the attic and go blading while the boys are at soccer practice.  Have I done it yet?  NO

I continue to say that I’m going to start biking again.  Have I put my ass on the seat yet?  NO

I look at the Wii and use the excuse that the Balance Board isn’t charged.

I need to get off the couch and off my butt.  I need to start really taking care of me.

If I don’t do it, no one else will do it for me.

 

 

 

Hanging with Mama Kat today and her prompt of What Have You Been Too Busy To Pay Attention To.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neglect

  1. Elastamom says:

    I feel your pain. I still manage to exercise…but I need to be better about taking time for me. Fun time for me. Relaxing time for me. Dang!

  2. Kate says:

    Me too. I can tell you 100 reasons. But not one is as valuable as taking care of myself. Maybe we can support each other from afar?

    I’ve pulled out the crock pot and am considering yoga. Time to do, no?

  3. Kate Schwartz says:

    Can you walk around the soccer field while the boys are playing? You may miss out on some Mommy talk time but maybe others would join you. Not sure if they are on a full field or not though.

Leave a Reply

