Words

Another 5 for 5!

I came here more than 2 years ago to share my thoughts.  To put down my words for friends and family.  Like so many others, the ones that I love span the country.  We don’t see each other often but we enjoy keeping up.  What better way to share our lives than with my words.

For a long time I wrote only for me.  My mom and my honey joined in on the reading.  Perhaps even a friend or two.  Mostly my little home on the world wide web was a journal for me to keep.  A detailed telling of the lives of the most special people in my world.

Slowly, over a great deal of time, I gained a small following.  People I’ve never met have come to care about our little piece of the universe.  They ask after my children.  They send virtual hugs that mean more than they can imagine.

And now my words are here for you.  More people I’ve never met.  More people for me to respect and be inspired by.

I’m always nervous to share my words with someone new.  I’m worried that I won’t make the grade.  That you will read what I’ve put to paper and think me inferior.

And then I remember.

My words are put here for me.

Sometimes you enjoy them and they speak to you.  Sometimes the comment love is overwhelming.

Occasionally the words strike out and I get hateful comments.  While everyone is entitled to their opinion, I like that I can delete words that hurt.  This place I’ve created is meant for love, for healing, for support.  I will not ever intentionally hurt anyone here and I expect the same from those who visit.

In creating this 5 for 5, Momalom has given me an opportunity to read your words.  To learn about you, from you.  To contemplate new styles.  To grow as the writer I hope to someday be.

Words can be amazing.

Even when they aren’t… the words are mine.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Words

  1. Sometimes it is hard to remember that those words are put down for YOU, not for others. I lose track of that sometimes.

  2. Elastamom says:

    I think that’s important…to always remember that this is YOUR place and they are YOUR words and that’s why you started writing. Perfectly said, Heather!

  3. Adrienne says:

    I love those two sweet faces in your header…great photo! And I am absolutely my own blogs biggest fan! Whenever I start to get worried about who’s reading/what they’re thinking…I just sit for a bit and read back through posts, and they make ME happy! I love that I started this ~ and it is absolutely for me…the rest has come like yummy icing on the cake. And I’m grateful for my virtual world. Thanks for your words here ~ they bring me back to that reason why I (we!) blog in the first place! Nice post!

  4. Sarah @ Momalom says:

    I second what Kitch said up above. And also, when you start thinking about anyone at all reading your words–even those closest to you (maybe especially those closest to you)–your voice starts to change and your words maybe don’t come as freely.

    Thanks for joining five for five!

Leave a Reply

