I Gotta Latte Love For You

***I’m linking up with Mama Kat this week for the first time ever to discuss how I got hooked on my beverage of choice.  Check her out – you’ll love her too.***

This is it.  This is the house.  After all of the searching and touring we’ve found it.  That lovely house that I’ve been looking at on the internet for days.  It has everything we’ve dreamed of.  The attic off the bedroom upstairs will make a perfect playroom – no matter what the realtor says.  And the “homework” station in the kitchen?  To. Die. For!  I can already picture my boys creating and learning and growing in that spot.  Sure the bathrooms need some updating.  That can all be done in time.

We close the front door behind us and give the realtor the look.  It’s the one that tells him we want to make an offer.  We want this house.  Now.

Let’s go somewhere so we can talk, he mutters.  He suggests a coffee shop not far from what we hope will be our new home.

The smell of coffee drowns me when we open the door to the shop.  I have always loved that smell.  If only the taste matched.  It has always been far to bitter for my liking – even with all of the cream and sugar in the world.

Our realtor offers to buy us a drink as we sit around the table and talk offers and amendments and things that need to be fixed.  I start to share that I don’t drink coffee but he doesn’t seem interested.  I think he’s trying to buy our sale.  He owes us something for all he hasn’t done to help us in this adventure so I decide I must get something to drink.

I browse the menu filled with names I’ve never even heard of.  I’m so out of my element here.  I am not a coffee shop socialite and it shows.  I have absolutely no idea what to order.

Then the only title I’ve ever heard of stands out in the crowd of unknowns.  Chai Latte.  I’ve never had one.  I don’t know the first thing about what it will taste like.  But, my brother-in-law swears by them.  He’s a metro sexual who spends more than his daily allowance at Starbucks.  How can I go wrong?

So I plunged and felt like an idiot.  Tall or Grande?  Skinny?  Cinnamon?  Whipped?  How much foam?  Shit…  Can’t I just order a damn drink?

With the utmost lack of confidence I spout off Tall Chai Latte Skinny No Whip and hope like hell I can drink it.  The young thing behind the counter eyes me curiously, seeing right through my shell and straight to my idiocy.  Still, she’s smart enough to not let on that she knows I’m a latte virgin.

She moves from the counter to prepare my concoction.  She returns with a steaming cup of white froth that smells oh so heavenly.  Great… It’s coffee with a more expensive price.  Something in a coffee shop that smells this good can only leave my mouth praying for sweet to take the bite away.

I sip with the truest of hesitations.  I know that when it hits my tongue I will be regretting my decision.  I’m already cursing my brother-in-law for ever muttering the words chai latte in my general vicinity.  And then… Heaven.

It’s so smooth.  The warm milk slides down my throat.  The flavor permeates throughout my being.  I can almost taste the cloves and the ginger and the hint of cinnamon.  There is just enough sweet to keep me coming back for more.  Oh I must apologize to my brother-in-law for the nasty thoughts I had only moments ago.  But I can’t tell him he’s right.  No, that would be too much.

I’m so absorbed in this magical goodness that I almost miss the conversation about the house.  You know, the whole reason that we came here to begin with.  I muttle through with a few yea, yea, yea’s because I’ve got to get back to this drink.  I sign on all the dotted lines and initial in all of the proper places.

Five years later I am in a completely different home.  The sale on the house fell through when the buyer for our current home backed out at the last-minute.  We came across a better deal and were able to build our home brand new for the same cost.  Turns out the only good thing our realtor gave me was the introduction to chai lattes and the quaint little coffee shop that is now only a mile or so from my home.

I have looked around and found the best place to get a chai latte in the area.  A working girl just can’t afford a daily dose of coffee shop latte, however.  Thankfully the best taste in town uses a tea sachet that can be purchased online at much more reasonable prices.  Add a little creamer and some vanilla sweetener and I can make a mean latte fit for a queen.

And so I’m hooked.  Several times a week I treat myself to this heavenly goodness in the comforts of my own microwave.  And, occasionally, I let the coffee shop guys treat me in true style.  Grande Chai Latte Skinny No Foam No Whip.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Gotta Latte Love For You

  1. Elastamom says:

    I’m soooo hooked too! Skinny Vanilla Latte is my favorite!!

Leave a Reply

