Progress

Tomorrow is Eli’s 2nd IEP meeting.

His interventionist dropped off a draft of his IEP tonight – just a couple of hours ago.  She’s so devoted.

I read it over and several things stuck out.

First – my son has an amazing team of people looking out for him.  Sure he has always had my honey and I there in his corner, looking out for what’s best for him.  But he is so fortunate to have the teacher and interventionist that he has.

They know him so well.  Our picture of Eli and their picture of Eli matched almost perfectly.  They see him like we do.  They see the strengths.  They see the needs that he has.

As I read through the draft it was easy to see how very far he has come.  Last year he struggled to read single words.  There were concerns about his ability to focus and read.  This year, after months and months of hard work during vision therapy, he is excelling in reading and is actually above his grade level.  He is excelling in math as well, but that is no surprise to us.

He struggles with socialization and communication.  Not talking.  No – he’s NEVER had an issue with talking.  He cannot adequately express his thoughts and emotions.

He is truly a child with PDD – NOS.  He continues to struggle with those traits that define the diagnosis.

In the upcoming year he will have support of social stories and a multitude of opportunities set up to practice his newly learned skills.

I am thrilled to say that I am truly looking forward to the upcoming year for Eli.  I continue to be amazed at the progress my young man is making.  I am overwhelmed by the staff that he has working with him, caring about his future.

I continue to hope for all of the kiddos I know to have such an experience.  Each and every one of them (and their families) deserve it.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Progress

  1. Elastamom says:

    That is such good news!!!

Leave a Reply

