Spring Time Blues

The birds are chirping and frolicking in the branches of trees and bushes that are covered with the hint of the green to come.  With each rain the grass moves closer to the bright shade of green that only comes in the heart of the spring.  The daffodils have opened their pretty little eyes that have been kissed gently by the sun and warmth.  Other garden flowers are peeking their heads above the ground just hoping that it’s real.

And then there’s you…

You call loudly each spring.  You with your mud and water and toads and bugs and limbs.  You with your poison.

You call to them with promises of the field beyond.  You speak softly in their ears of adventures only boys can know.  You thrive on their giggles as they jump over you.  You camouflage your poison and offer the amnesia of childhood, making them forget the woes of springs past.

Today I curse you for your open invitations.  You are not the one who rushes little bodies into the shower to remove all poisonous juices from sensitive skin.  You are not the one being called cruel and awful as you watch larger than life tears form at the very thought of the spray that must now be applied to various red spots.  You are not the one blowing on the skin to apply mommy magic to take the pain away.

So to you I say you suck.  Stop taking over the minds of the little boys of this house.  Stop the mirage that is hiding your true qualities.  Be the ditch you were put on this earth to be, but leave my boys alone.  Truly I am tired of single-handedly keeping the Calamine Lotion people in business, though I’m sure they appreciate it.

Please continue to house the birds and the bees and the worms and the toads and the flowers and the trees.  Do your job to keep the excess water from draining into my yard during the heavy rain.  Provide me with the taste of wild asparagus each spring.  Just do not inflict your poison on my poor boys again… this year…

Oh yes, I know that you’ll return to sing your siren song again.  I simply pray that one day the sense I’ve taught them will actually function in the way that I’ve intended all along.

Until then let’s agree to disagree.  You keep your distance and I’ll keep mine.  We truly can live in peace, I promise.

Thank you.  Seriously, thank you.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Time Blues

Leave a Reply

