A Little Patience

I need some.

Something has changed.

My sweet Hazel Eyes has been a sensory mess.

Weather?  Time Change?  Growth Spurt?  Time of Year?

I know I can look back in my archives and find a pattern.  Typically it’s April.

Maybe it is weather change.

For some of us its severe sinus pressure.  For others it’s simple spring fever.

Perhaps for my sweet boy it’s sensory changes.

For a week he has been spinning, something that left us ages ago.  At least to this extreme.  Seconds turn to minutes, minutes that last forever it seems.

He craves so very much.

Nothing is too high.  Nothing is too fast.  There isn’t enough texture.

He dug in the dirt in his bare hands, for hours.

He helped break twigs, small branches really.  He stood on top of an old, dried up evergreen and bounced.

When Mother Nature plays nice and I can let him seek outside it’s all good.  But when April showers strike in early March and we are stuck in the confines of our home…  Well that is just about enough to drive me batty.

He gets emotional.  Everything hurts his feelings.  Everything makes him angry.  He has difficulty finding the happy in his day-to-day.

And that leads to some miserable days that we are trying to learn to cope through.

So the hope remains that our March madness will replace the April crazy we generally find.  That when spring finally arrives on the calendar we will be seeing the end of the difficulty for him..

For now we will spin longer and faster.  We will climb higher and higher.  We will make certain that there is dirt and play dough and sand and other such textures to meet the needs that are ever-present.  There will be Lego time as needed.

We will push through for him.  Because he needs us.  Because this is what spring is all about.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Little Patience

  1. You could be writing about Miss D., here. Total meltdowns, tears, anger, stress. It makes me feel like such a failure, because I cannot seem to find the right way to comfort her. 😦 xo

  2. Kate says:

    Oh, I remember losing my mind in the north when there was the promise of spring in the air and yet it was just an empty promise, a day of beauty surrounded by more of the not quite winter, not yet spring. And I was in college. I can’t imagine as a young kid!

    I’d share my patience with you, but to be honest, it’s worn thin too. May we find more.

  3. Elastamom says:

    I think it must be the time of year b/c my kids have been lunatics…and not just Olivia. 🙂

  4. Debbi Henry says:

    He must be tired out and exhausted from all of that seeking, which only adds to the stress. I hope things calm down for him soon…and for the rest of you as well.

  5. Christine says:

    So difficult…we try to do temperature things when the weather does this. Outside to splash and get cold, inside for tea or cocoa. Dancing wildly with balloons, then warm bath with bubbles. Make playdough, play with ice. Throw confetti, vacuum it up. Repeat.

    When little bodies need to climb or jump, we are severely limited inside. So we do gobs of fine motor stuff and hope it’s enough.

Leave a Reply

