Love Thy Neighbor

I was lurking on Facebook last night…  Yes, I lurk, sometimes.  It’s really the best way to learn things, sometimes…  But I digress…

Anyway, I was reading the comments that others had made on the right side of my home page.  I came across the comment of a person on my friend list that both intrigued and outraged me.  I clicked on the comment and was instantly disgusted.

The person I was a guy I went to grade school and junior high with.  I haven’t seen him in 25 years.  I have no idea the person he became as he grew up in a small town while I moved on to the bigger city.

The comment he made was in regards to a video a friend of his had posted.  The video was of an elderly couple who was celebrating their 70th wedding anniversary.  He was a retired reverend.  The couple was discussing their family and focused on the fact that 2 of their 9 grandchildren are gay.  They were pleading for the right for gay marriage in the state of Washington.  They told a beautiful story and pushed for equality for all of their grandchildren.

The running commentary below the video, which included my “friend’s” comment, was beyond disgraceful.  A lot of comments about bigoted lesbians and obnoxious feminists and men who just want to screw everyone.

Wow…

Have we really not come that far in all of these years?  I guess there was a rather large span of time between when slavery was abolished and the civil rights movement.  Hell, minorities are still fighting for rights when it comes to jobs and schools and life.  Why should I think my life should be any different?

Because…

Because I am teaching my two amazing children to be caring of others and accepting of others.  I would never allow them to name call or tease or be outright mean.

Because I want my children to live in a world where their mommies aren’t the reason they don’t get invited to parties or sleepovers or the movies.  Where they don’t have to listen to the insulting opinions of others.  Where their family is important like every other family.

We are thankful that we live in an accepting community.  We are thankful for the friends and family who accept us and our boys with all of their hearts and souls.

I look forward to the day when people practice understanding and love.  Of everyone.  That is what life is all about.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love Thy Neighbor

  1. Elastamom says:

    I look forward to that day too. It’s ridiculous that these prejudices still exist.

  2. Patty says:

    Isn’t it terrifying that some people are like this? I just do not get it. This is one reason I need to take a break from FB. I have many conservative friends who really are nice people in real life, but wow, they get on FB and spout all this hate-filled crap. I just don’t get it at all. I’m sorry people are like this and you had to see it.

Leave a Reply

