Delight

This weekend was littered with smiles and laughs.  Filled with more fun than anyone should ever  have and just as much as everyone needs.

We kicked off the weekend with pizza and friends.  You know those friends who you feel like you’ve known forever and when you do the math you really have known for an insane amount of time?!?!  You’ve watched their kids grow and they’ve watched yours.  Your kids are friends just as much as you are friends.  It’s wonderful and amazing and special.  And no, we don’t get together nearly as often as we should and we don’t talk daily.  But, I know that push come to shove we’re always there for each other.

As Friday evening was winding down and our friends had left Keegan looked at me as said I wish if we could have a sleepover…

I almost said “sometime soon…”  but I stopped myself.  Why not have a sleepover?  So I looked at him and smiled and shared that we would have a sleepover Saturday night.  Just me, him and Eli.  We would watch movies and snuggle in sleeping bags and eat food.

And so we did.

After dinner we all got jammies on and got our beds set up on the floor.  We watched Hugo and ate ice cream.  We watched a little more of Hugo and then we ate popcorn that may or may not have had coconut m&m’s hidden in it 🙂  After Hugo we brushed teeth and turned off all the lights and snuggled under the covers to watch Spooky Buddies.  They were up WAY past bedtime.  They were having loads of fun and so was I.  I will admit that I moved to the couch as soon as they were sound asleep.  This old body just can’t take sleeping on the floor anymore!

Today was rough with the limited sleep.  But it was all worth it.  I loved the fun that we had and the memories that we made.  We are looking forward to another fun weekend next weekend as we have declared Saturday a complete “me” day 🙂

Hope you all had a bit of happy this weekend too!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Delight

  1. It sounds like Bliss. My kids had the snots, so my weekend was not quite up to par.

  2. Elastamom says:

    We had so much fun on Friday!!! I’m so glad you had the sleepover…it’s so fun to do “crazy” things like that sometimes.

Leave a Reply

