Puppy Love

A month ago we took the dog to the vet.  He was continuously biting himself.  We had to figure out what was wrong.

$100+ later and we were out the door.  He had something called demodex mites.  It was also determined that he likely had a wheat allergy along with various seasonal allergies.

So started the daily regimen of liquid oral meds that will last for 60 days, bi-weekly baths with medicated shampoo and a food change.

Each morning I pull up the proper medication dosage while Wicket is outside.  If he sees me pull it up he runs and hides.  No bubblegum flavoring for dogs apparently.  I call him in and lure him to the kitchen.  I straddle him and pry his mouth open and hit him with not one but two syringes of liquid nasty.  He shakes his head and runs to the living room, all the while giving me the evil eye.

Next I fill his bowl with 2 cups of wheat free, all natural food that he simply. won’t. eat…  For a month he has been picking at his food just enough to take it out of his bowl and move it to my living room rug and leave it there for me to find.  A clear statement that he is NOT happy about this new food.  Tough luck little dog.

So we play the game.  We argue with him about going outside to eat sticks, which to a dog apparently taste better than turkey and sweet potato dog food.  We curse when we clean up the vomit that rats him out of all the non edibles he ingested in order to avoid eating his food.  We beg him to come to the kitchen and may have gone so far as to pretend to eat his food to entice him…  They boys even tried wrapping his food in cheese.  He was far too bright for them.  He ate up the cheese and spit out the food at their feet.

Enter the additional crazy.  Eli’s anxiety and logic.  If Wicket doesn’t eat then Wicket will die.  Plain and simple.

And so there’s been yelling and crying and anger and frustration that culminated in a headache tonight.  And he finally told us his worry about his four-legged friend.  We assured him we were doing everything to get his dog to eat and that he did eat 2 bowls tonight.  I held him and hugged him and reminded him that holding onto those worries will keep giving him headaches, could make him sick.  Then I gave him some Tylenol and tucked him into bed.

Fortunately tomorrow is worry doctor day.  Time to share what’s wrong.  Time to talk some more about appropriate ways to get through these worries.  Time to be able to put the Tylenol back into the cabinet.

As for the dog???  We continue to baby him in the hopes that he quits being so stubborn and just eats the food we give him.  A girl can dream, right?

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Puppy Love

  1. Patty says:

    Oh, wow, I can only imagine how stressful that is for you. And I’m sure you have to keep super calm so as not to further upset Eli. That has to be so tough! I hope WIcket breaks down and eats, so Eli can feel better!

  2. Elastamom says:

    Oh boy!! Just what you needed!! 🙂

  3. I’m with Tiffany–you really needed that complication in your life!

  4. Pingback: Poison | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

